Arts & Ents Opinion

  • 20 July 2014

    SHE is one of the country's all-time most successful sportswomen, but a cursory trawl on Google before meeting Rebecca Adlington makes for disheartening reading.

  • 19 July 2014

    It would be disingenuous of me to pretend that I am full of anticipation for the opening ceremonials of the XXth Commonwealth Games, and I know I am not alone in being less than hugely excited by the prospect of the opportunity to Celebrate in the company of Lulu, Rod Stewart and Susan Boyle.

  • 19 July 2014

    To suggest that the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland is on a roll this summer, right through July and dipping into August, risks understatement.

  • 12 July 2014

    I watched, once again, Dick Lester's unbeatable 1964 movie A Hard Day's Night on television last weekend but I missed the latest Beatles jukebox musical Let It Be when it rolled through Glasgow a couple of months back.

  • 21 June 2014

    I am not sure they receive the recognition they deserve, but there are among the staff at Glasgow Life a posse of young women who are often the city's best advertisement.

  • 21 June 2014

    A week past Thursday, as part of our coverage of the Cottier Chamber Project, I reviewed a performance of the Piano Trio written by the late Thomas Wilson, one of Scotland's most revered composers, who lived just round the corner from Cottier's.

  • 14 June 2014

    When Fergus Linehan, director designate of the Edinburgh International Festival, revealed that he planned to synchronise his dates to coincide with the Fringe from 2015, my first, mischievous question was whether he'd like to see the Edinburgh International Film Festival also restored to synchronicity in August.

  • 31 May 2014

    The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra is halfway through its two-day celebration of American composer Elliott Carter as I write this - an event that, like the Tectonics weekend earlier this month, has proved there is a real appetite for contemporary music in Glasgow and Scotland.

  • 31 May 2014

    Almost inevitably, there's a bit of a wrap-up flavour to today's column.

  • 24 May 2014

    As Kate Molleson said in her review of Richard Jones's new production of Der Rosenkavalier in yesterday's Herald, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra's principal conductor Robin Ticciati probably did not expect his debut as music director of Glyndebourne opera in Sussex to be controversial in quite the way in turned out.