Twelve Years A Slave star Chiwetel Ejiofor has been nominated for the best actor Bafta.

He was among the nominations announced today at Bafta's HQ in central London by Hobbit star Luke Evans and Helen McCrory from the Harry Potter films.

The film's director Steve McQueen was also recognised with a nomination.

Loading article content

Also nominated was American chatshow host Oprah Winfrey for best supporting actress for her role in The Butler.

McQueen's tale of slavery in America's deep south is heavily tipped to do well at this year's awards season and was also nominated for best film alongside hit movies including American Hustle and Gravity.

Ejiofor faces competition for the leading actor gong from veteran Bruce Dern for his role in Nebraska and Hollywood stars Christian Bale, Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks.

Dame Judi Dench is nominated for the leading actress award for her role in Philomena along with American Hustle's Amy Adams, Cate Blanchett, Emma Thompson and Sandra Bullock.

The event, formally known as the EE British Academy Film Awards, is held in London on Sunday February 16.

Other big names among the nominations include Bradley Cooper, Matt Damon and Michael Fassbender who are all nominated for best supporting actor.

The best supporting actress category sees Jennifer Lawrence and Julia Roberts nominated along with Sally Hawkins for her role in Woody Allen's Blue Jasmine and 12 Years A Slave star Lupita Nyong'o.

McQueen faces competition for the best director award from established names including Paul Greengrass and Martin Scorsese.

Space drama Gravity leads the pack with 11 nominations, one ahead of both 12 Years A Slave and American Hustle.

Comic and actor Steve Coogan is nominated for best adapted screenplay for his work with Jeff Pope on Philomena.

Kelly Marcel, who is due to write the script for the forthcoming 50 Shades Of Grey film, is among the nominees for the outstanding debut award for her work on Saving Mr Banks, about the making of Mary Poppins.

Also nominated in that category are Colin Carberry and Glenn Patterson who wrote Good Vibrations - the true story of Terri Hooley who ran a record shop in Belfast at the height of the Troubles.

American filmmaker Alex Gibney is nominated twice in the best documentary category for his films about drug cheat cyclist Lance Armstrong and whistleblowing website WikiLeaks.

Here are the contenders for the main categories:


:: Best Film

12 Years A Slave

American Hustle

Captain Phillips




Leading Actor

Bruce Dern for Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years A Slave

Christian Bale for American Hustle

Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf Of Wall Street

Tom Hanks for Captain Phillips

Leading Actress

Amy Adams for American Hustle

Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine

Emma Thompson for Saving Mr Banks

Judi Dench for Philomena

Sandra Bullock for Gravity

Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper for American Hustle

Daniel Bruhl for Rush

Matt Damon for Behind The Candelabra

Michael Fassbender for 12 Years A Slave

Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle

Julia Roberts for August: Osage County

Lupita Nyong'o for 12 Years A Slave

Oprah Winfrey for The Butler

Sally Hawkins for Blue Jasmine


Steve McQueen for 12 Years A Slave

David O.Russell for American Hustle

Paul Greengrass for Captain Phillips

Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity

Martin Scorsese for The Wolf Of Wall Street

Outstanding British Film


Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom



Saving Mr Banks

The Selfish Giant

Outstanding Debut by a British writer, director or producer

Colin Carberry and Glenn Patterson for Good Vibrations

Kelly Marcel for Saving Mr Banks

Kieran Evans for Kelly + Victor

Paul Wright and Polly Stokes for For Those In Peril

Scott Graham for Shell

Film not in the English language

The Act Of Killing

Blue Is The Warmest Colour

The Great Beauty

Metro Manila Wadjda


The Act Of Killing

The Armstrong Lie


Tim's Vermeer

We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks

Animated Film

Despicable Me 2


Monsters University

Original Screenplay

Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell for American Hustle

Woody Allen for Blue Jasmine

Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron for Gravity

Joel and Ethan Coen for Inside Llewyn Davis

Bob Nelson for Nebraska

Adapted Screenplay

John Ridley for 12 Years A Slave

Richard LaGravenese for Behind The Candelabra

Billy Ray for Captain Phillips

Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope for Philomena

Terence Winter for The Wolf Of Wall Street

Original Music

Hans Zimmer for 12 Years A Slave

John Williams for The Book Thief

Henry Jackman for Captain Phillips

Steven Price for Gravity

Thomas Newman for Saving Mr Banks