Prokofiev Symphonies No 3 and 7

Prokofiev Symphonies No 3 and 7

Kirill Karabits/Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Loading article content


LAST week, following a superficial Prokofiev Symphony No 5 release from Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra, I pointed out that there is a load of new Prokofiev recordings out, including some that are really important. This is one of them. Kirill Karabits and his fine Bournemouth band bring real depth and unusually emphatic melodic clarity to the Third Symphony in this first volume of a new cycle. Moreover, Karabits's reading finds in the work a completely convincing symphonic integrity, from which too many commentators are distracted by the fact that its material is a reworking of themes from The Fiery Angel. Meanwhile, the performance of the Seventh Symphony has an enormous span, with its wonderful, billowing main theme setting off, and returning at the end of the symphony, like a majestic ship in full sail. And Karabits tacks the witty, alternative ending on as an encore. A glorious disc, and a magisterial launch to a series of which we will hear more soon.

Michael Tumelty