Ken Smiths Diary Archive

  • Monday 5 May 2014

    ELMA Stevenson tells us she was at the Corrie Golf Club tearoom on Arran at the weekend when the waitress told her that she was surprised by a customer who came in with her own food and merely asked for a cup of hot water for her tea bag.

  • Sunday 4 May 2014

    WE like how Scots think on their feet.

  • Thursday 1 May 2014

    OUR tales of the late actor Bob Hoskins remind writer Meg Henderson:

  • Wednesday 30 April 2014

    THE film actor Bob Hoskins has died, after an impressive career, often playing Cockneys and gangsters.

  • Tuesday 29 April 2014

    THE news that bumptious American tycoon Donald Trump is offering to buy the Turnberry Hotel has concerned a few readers.

  • Monday 28 April 2014

    A SOUTH-Side reader had to phone a financial services company as the form he was filling out online insisted that he put in a mobile phone number - even though he doesn't have one.

  • Sunday 27 April 2014

    OUR tales of talking posh remind a reader of a new take on an old story.

  • Thursday 24 April 2014

    ANDY Scott's awesome Kelpies near Falkirk have been dismissed by a London newspaper's art critic as "a pile of horse poo".

  • Wednesday 23 April 2014

    POSH shops continued.

  • Tuesday 22 April 2014

    SOME people appear to be relishing the sacking of Glasgow's own David Moyes at Manchester United.

  • Monday 21 April 2014

    ACCIDENTALLY appearing on TV continued.

  • Sunday 20 April 2014

    PUB conversations continued.

  • Thursday 17 April 2014

    IF you are already celebrating Easter you will know that last Sunday was Palm Sunday, commemorating when Jesus rode into Jerusalem.

  • Wednesday 16 April 2014

    A READER on holiday in Argyll popped into a local shop to buy a Herald and found himself stuck behind a local woman who was blethering 19-to-the-dozen with the assistant.

  • Tuesday 15 April 2014

    A TOURIST attraction in Dunblane is the postbox painted gold in memory of Andy Murray's Olympic victory.

  • Monday 14 April 2014

    STRESSFUL places, airports.

  • Sunday 13 April 2014

    YOU know that train ticket prices are reaching ridiculous proportions when even well-known authors complain about them.

  • Thursday 10 April 2014

    AH, we miss the old SDP and its ways.

  • Wednesday 9 April 2014

    SPOTTED in the daily calendar of events of the Corstorphine Trust, at Edinburgh's Corstorphine Heritage Centre.

  • Tuesday 8 April 2014

    YESTERDAY'S BBC2 schedule had such offerings as Great British Garden Revival, Great British Railway Journeys, The Great British Bake Off, Great British Menu, The Great British Sewing Bee, The Battle for Britain's Breakfast and Border Country:

  • Monday 7 April 2014

    SOMEONE we know claims to have come across a home-surgery kit in his bathroom cupboard.

  • Sunday 6 April 2014

    SCOTLAND will miss fiery campaigner Margo MacDonald.

  • Thursday 3 April 2014

    WATCHING your weight in the west of Scotland.

  • Wednesday 2 April 2014

    TALKING posh continued.

  • Tuesday 1 April 2014

    ROBIN Gilmour in Milngavie tells us that a friend was telling his wife that he was thinking of joining the local ramblers' club.

  • Monday 31 March 2014

    LACONIC former accountant Arnold Brown received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Scottish Comedy Awards last night in Glasgow.

  • Sunday 30 March 2014

    WE mentioned under-age drinking, and Eric Duncan in Cardross recalls:

  • Friday 28 March 2014

    WORRIES about elderly drivers continued.

  • Thursday 27 March 2014

    HIGHLANDERS' Institute continued.

  • Wednesday 26 March 2014

    THE BBC reported that the ceiling collapse at London's Apollo Theatre was caused by "weak and old material being used".