Ken Smiths Diary Archive

  • Wednesday 25 June 2014

    A RECENT innovation in Glasgow parks is folk taking disposable barbecues with them on sunny days.

  • Tuesday 24 June 2014

    A READER at a Dollar Academy dinner was much taken with guest speaker Iain Milne, the former international rugby player, explaining that he was capped 44 times for Scotland.

  • Monday 23 June 2014

    WHAT happens when mates try to be helpful.

  • Sunday 22 June 2014

    THE Queen's Baton for the Commonwealth Games had a successful tour through Ayrshire at the weekend.

  • Thursday 19 June 2014

    SOME great lines come from the radio.

  • Wednesday 18 June 2014

    LOSING weight - never easy.

  • Tuesday 17 June 2014

    LOVELY day in Glasgow yesterday, with temperatures soaring and the sun shining.

  • Monday 16 June 2014

    WE asked for your bar staff stories, and Robert White in Kirkcudbright says:

  • Sunday 15 June 2014

    AH, Glasgow barmen.

  • Thursday 12 June 2014

    OUR story of the fruit van in Glasgow with the sign stating that no bananas were left in it overnight reminds Angela Morgan of her company moving to a south-side industrial estate in Glasgow last year.

  • Wednesday 11 June 2014

    HARRY Potter author JK Rowling caused a bit of a stir yesterday by donating a right few quid to the No campaign in the Scottish referendum.

  • Tuesday 10 June 2014

    ALAN Barlow was chatting to a barmaid in Paisley who said she once worked in a Paisley pub that catered many funeral teas.

  • Monday 9 June 2014

    SAD to hear of the death of comedy actor Rik Mayall, who was still in his fifties.

  • Sunday 8 June 2014

    A READER was in a health food store at the Silverburn shopping centre when an elderly lady following her daughter around looked at all the bottles on the shelves and announced:

  • Thursday 5 June 2014

    INEVITABLY the press were waiting to report the first accident involving the new Edinburgh tram.

  • Wednesday 4 June 2014

    QUEEN'S Speech yesterday in Parliament.

  • Tuesday 3 June 2014

    A NEWS story yesterday revealed that the Scottish Hair and Beauty Awards being held at the Thistle hotel in Glasgow ended in a bit of a stramash with ball-gowned women fighting and baring their bums.

  • Monday 2 June 2014

    YES, you might have a tram running in Edinburgh now, but you still can't beat the Edinburgh buses for interesting conversations.

  • Sunday 1 June 2014

    MANY and varied are the arguments for and against independence.

  • Thursday 29 May 2014

    HOW do you deal with cold callers on your phone?

  • Wednesday 28 May 2014

    THE sports website Inside the Games has been warning that there may be many empty seats at the opening and closing ceremonies of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow due to the high cost of the tickets (up to £250).

  • Tuesday 27 May 2014

    MANY folk are still in shock after right-wing Ukip took a Euro seat in Scotland.

  • Monday 26 May 2014

    SOME keen observers of the Scottish political system were annoyed that the full Scottish results in the European election were delayed as there was no counting of votes in the Western Isles on the Sabbath.

  • Sunday 25 May 2014

    PRESENTER Iain Anderson on Radio Scotland is often told by listeners that they enjoy a busker in Glasgow's city centre called Bobby who is a bit of a singer.

  • Thursday 22 May 2014

    REMEMBER to vote yesterday?

  • Wednesday 21 May 2014

    OUR tour guide stories remind Sonia Petersen, in Glasgow, of travelling on the Jacobite steam train to Mallaig with her sister Eva when the guide announced:

  • Tuesday 20 May 2014

    COMEDY writer Phil Differ's show about prison life, Who's Afraid of the Big Bar-L, being performed at Oran Mor during the West End festival, was previewed at Barlinnie, where the prisoners chatted to the performers afterwards.

  • Monday 19 May 2014

    AS tourists begin to make their way to Scotland for the summer, we doff our hat to the tour guides.

  • Sunday 18 May 2014

    THE St Johnstone celebrations after their first Scottish Cup win continued in Perth yesterday with thousands thronging the streets to see the cup being paraded in an open-top bus.

  • Thursday 15 May 2014

    RUGBY ref Ed Crozier was in charge of a charity game at Cartha Queens Park the other day to raise funds for the Prince and Princess of Wales Hospice in Glasgow.