THE Sunday Herald team has been shortlisted for a total of 13 accolades ahead of the Scottish Press Awards.

They include nominations for Front Page of the Year, for the paper's coverage of the Bill Walker scandal, and Innovation of the Year for the Sunday Herald Life App.

Sister papers The Herald and the Evening Times are up for a further 11 awards across 19 categories - the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday, April 24.

Loading article content

The Sunday Herald's Neil Mackay and Alan Morrison are shortlisted for Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year. Alison Rowat is up for Interview of the Year while Paul Hutcheon is listed in the Political Journalist of the Year category and Ben Riley-Smith in Young Journalist of the Year.

Ian Bell is listed for Columnist of the Year and Steven Vass for Financial/Business Journalist of the Year.

David Pratt is nominated for the Feature Writer category with Susan Swarbrick vying for Sports Feature Writer of the Year.

Nick Ponty is shortlisted for Sports Photographer of the Year and the HeraldScotland online paywall is also up for Innovation of the Year.

From The Herald, Phil Miller is in the running for Arts/Entertainments Journalist of the Year while Gordon Terris is shortlisted for News Photographer and Steven Cramley for Cartoonist of the Year.

In the Financial/Business category, Simon Bain, Greig Cameron and Ian McConnell are all shortlisted.

Hugh MacDonald is up for Sports Feature Writer of the Year while Helen Puttick is listed for Scoop of the Year. She is also shortlisted for Reporter of the Year along with Gerry Braiden. The Evening Times's Janice Bell is nominated for Columnist of the Year.

The Sunday Herald, meanwhile, has also been nominated in two categories in the 2014 Newspaper Awards. We are named in the Weekend Newspaper of the Year category, while the Sunday Herald Life series of apps in nominated in the App of the Year category. The winners are set to be announced at a ceremony in London in April.