THE hunt is on for the reporters of tomorrow following the launch of the 2014 Scottish Student Journalism Awards.

Top figures from the nation's media will judge submissions by college and university newshounds in categories including Student Journalist of the Year, Student Publication of the Year and Scoop of the Year.

This year's panel will feature Daily Record columnist Joan McAlpine MSP, Jim Wilson, editor of the Sunday Mail; Matt Roper, the digital news editor at STV; and Jackie Bird, the BBC Scotland presenter.

Loading article content

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on May 29 in ARTA, Glasgow. The host will be Stephen Jardine, who has worked for STV, GMTV and Radio Tay and now runs his own PR company.