Sunday Herald investigations editor Paul Hutcheon has won Journalist and Political Journalist of the Year in a successful night for the Herald & Times Group at the Scottish Press Awards.

His colleague David Pratt, the Sunday Herald's foreign editor whose latest dispatch from Ukraine can be read on Page 16, was named Feature Writer of the Year at last night's event in Glasgow's Radisson Blu Hotel.

Five Herald and Times staff members also narrowly missed out on awards. Steven Camley (Cartoonist of the Year), Ian Bell (Columnist of the Year), Susan Swarbrick (Sports Feature Writer of the Year), Neil Mackay (Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year) and Gerry Braiden (Reporter of the Year) were runners-up in their categories.

Loading article content

Ben Riley-Smith, formerly of The Herald, and the Sunday Herald's former deputy business editor, Steven Vass, came second in the Young Journalist of the Year and Business Writer Awards respectively. On the digital innovation side, Sunday Herald Life app was runner-up.

Journalists from the Herald and Times secured 25 entries.

The sponsors were National Express, Clydesdale Bank, Diageo, Johnnie Walker, VisitScotland, Scotch Whisky Association, 3x1 Public Relations, Radisson Blu Hotels & Resorts, Event Consultants Scotland, VisionEvents, The Scottish Newspaper Society and The Big Partnership.

Other winners include; Ian MacNicol [Sports Photographer of the Year]; Alan Simpson [News Photographer] Brian Adcock [Cartoonist]; Anthony Joseph, Aberdeen Evening Express [Young Journalist]; Ayrshire Post, [Weekly Newspaper] Aidan Smith, The Scotsman [Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year]; A Lifetime Achieve- ment award was presented to former Daily Mail editor Chris Williams and the Sunday Mail won Newspaper of the Year.