England's bid to regain the Ashes next year will begin in Cardiff after the England and Wales Cricket Board revealed the full itinerary for Australia's tour next summer.

England surrendered the urn in humiliating fashion Down Under last winter as they succumbed to a 5-0 defeat which resulted in the departure of head coach Andy Flower

Peter Moores has since been appointed as his replacement and his first Ashes Test in charge will take place at the the SWALEC Stadium beginning on July 8.

Loading article content

Further Tests will follow at Lord's (July 16), Edgbaston (July 29) and Trent Bridge (August 6) before the final Test of the summer at the Oval, beginning on August 20.

The selection of Cardiff for the opener mirrors 2009 when James Anderson and Monty Panesar held on to secure a draw in the first Test as England went on to win the series 2-1 and regain the urn after a 5-0 drubbing in 2006/07.