• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Awards for student journalists

THE hunt is on for the reporters of tomorrow following the launch of the 2014 Scottish Student Journalism Awards.

Top figures from the nation's media will judge submissions by college and university newshounds in categories including Student Journalist of the Year, Student Publication of the Year and Scoop of the Year.

This year's panel will feature Daily Record columnist Joan McAlpine MSP, Jim Wilson, editor of the Sunday Mail; Matt Roper, the digital news editor at STV; and Jackie Bird, the BBC Scotland presenter.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on May 29 in ARTA, Glasgow. The host will be Stephen Jardine, who has worked for STV, GMTV and Radio Tay and now runs his own PR company.

Contextual targeting label: 

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.