• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Facebook sets privacy as default setting

FACEBOOK has made changes to its privacy settings, with new users now sharing updates only with friends by default.

Previously, when users first joined the social network, the default setting was for all updates to be "public" and visible to everyone who uses the site.

But after feedback from users, Facebook said they had decided to change this to give users more privacy.

A Facebook spokesman said: "While some people want to post to everyone, others have told us that they are more comfortable sharing with a smaller group, like just their friends.

"We recognise that it is much worse for someone to accidentally share with everyone when they actually meant to share just with friends, compared with the reverse. So, going forward, when new people join Facebook, the default audience of their first post will be set to Friends.

"Previously, for most people, it was set to Public."

Contextual targeting label: 
Arts and Entertainment

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.

235392