A month after announcing that his Foundation will be the headline sponsor of the Scottish Boys' Championship, Paul Lawrie last night revealed he will also be lending his backing to the national girls' event this season.

The championship, which dates back to 1958 with a list of past winners which includes Catriona Matthew, Janice Moodie and Mhairi McKay, will take place over the Craighead links at Crail in July and will be known as the Paul Lawrie Foundation Scottish Girls' (Closed) Championship.

"I'm very pleased that the Foundation is able to support such a great event," said the former Open champion and the recent winner of the Qatar Masters. "National championships are major events on the junior calendar and I'm sure the sponsorship will only enhance what is already a fantastic event."

Loading article content

Shona Malcolm, the Scottish Ladies Golfing Association chairman, added: "Paul's commitment to the development of young Scottish golfers is second to none, and there is no doubt that his support will enhance the competitiveness and profile of the championship."

Lawrie is in the United States this week for the WGC-Accenture World Matchplay Championship at the Ritz Carlton resort where he has been drawn against the Englishman, and No.22 seed, Justin Rose in the opening round tomorrow.

His fellow Scot, Martin Laird, will face a duel with Alvaro Quiros, the big-hitting Spaniard, in round one. The two Scots would meet in the last 16 if they were to win two ties each. Luke Donald, the world No.1, opens against Ernie Els, a former No.1 whose ranking has slipped to No.64 following a barren run.

Draw. World Golf Championships/Accenture Matchplay Championship, Dove Mountain, Tucson, Arizona, USA (seeded positions in brackets)


(1) L Donald v (64) E Els, (32) J Dufner v (33) P Hanson, (16) KJ Choi v (49) K Stanley, (17) B Snedeker v (48) R Goosen, (8) A Scott v (57) R Rock, (25) B Van Pelt v (40) M Wilson, (9) D Johnson v (56) J Furyk, (24) T Bjorn v (41) F Molinari


(4) M Kaymer v (61) G Chalmers, (29) D Toms v (36) R Fowler, (13) M Kuchar v (52) J Byrd, (20) B Watson v (45) B Crane, (5) S Stricker v (60) K Na, (28) L Oosthuizen v (37) A Baddeley, (12) G McDowell v (53) YE Yang, (21) H Mahan v (44) Z Johnson


(2) R McIlroy v (63) G Coetzee, (31) KT Kim v (34) A Hansen, (15) S Garcia v (50) M A Jimenez, (18) K Bradley v (47) G Ogilvy, (7) J Day v (58) R Cabrera-Bello, (26) S Dyson v (39) J Senden, (10) C Schwartzel v (55) G Woodland, (23) I Poulter v (42) Bae Sang-moon


(3) L Westwood v (62) N Colsaerts, (30) R Karlsson v (35) F Jacobson, (14) N Watney v (51) D Clarke, (19) T Woods v (46) G Fernandez-Castano, (6) W Simpson v (59) M Manassero, (27) A Quiros v (38) M Laird, (11) B Haas v (54) R Ishikawa, (22) J Rose v (43) Paul Lawrie