England will face Scotland in the quarter-finals of the HSBC Sevens World Series in New Zealand tomorrow, around 12 hours before the full sides meet in the RBS 6 Nations at Twickenham.

England welcomed back leading try scorer Mat Turner in Wellington and he struck twice as champions New Zealand were beaten 19-14 in their opening match, before also scoring in the 12-12 draw with the United States and the 28-5 victory over Spain.

Loading article content

Scotland beat Fiji 14-12 with a decisive late try from Andrew Turnbull and Colin Gregor conversion, then beat Portugal 19-17 to make sure of qualification before a 29-5 defeat to Australia.

Wales failed to get out of a tough Pool C which was settled on points difference after they finished level with South Africa and Canada.

They beat Canada 26-17 but were beaten 19-12 by Samoa and overtaken in the rankings after going down 21-0 to South Africa.

Scotland will also take on England at Twickenham in their opening fixture of the RBS Six Nations on Saturday, February 2.

The teams have met 130 times. England have won 70 of these games, Scotland were victorious in 42 and 18 ended in draws.

Scotland has not won at Twickenham since its 22-12 triumph in 1983.

Scottish prop Euan Murray will win his 50th cap during the match, becoming only the 33rd Scot to reach the landmark.

Gloucester centre Billy Twelvetrees will make his England debut in place of injured Manu Tuilago.

Here are the teams for England v Scotland at Twickenham on Saturday, February 2.

England: A Goode (Saracens); C Ashton (Saracens), B Barritt (Saracens), B Twelvetrees (Gloucester), M Brown (Harlequins); O Farrell (Saracens), B Youngs (Leicester); J Marler (Harlequins), T Youngs (Leicester), D Cole (Leicester), J Launchbury (Wasps), G Parling (Leicester), T Wood (Northampton), C Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), B Morgan (Gloucester).

Replacements: D Hartley (Northampton), D Wilson (Bath), M Vunipola (Saracens), C Lawes (Northampton), J Haskell (Wasps), D Care (Harlequins), T Flood (Leicester), D Strettle (Saracens).

Scotland: S Hogg (Glasgow); S Maitland (Glasgow), S Lamont (Glasgow), M Scott (Edinburgh), T Visser (Edinburgh); R Jackson (Glasgow), G Laidlaw (Edinburgh); R Grant (Glasgow), D Hall (Glasgow), E Murray (Worcester), R Gray (Sale Sharks), J Hamilton (Gloucester), A Strokosch (Perpignan), K Brown (Saracens, capt), Beattie (Montpellier).

Replacements: R Ford (Edinburgh), M Low (Glasgow), G Cross (Edinburgh), A Kellock (Glasgow), D Denton (Edinburgh), H Pyrgos (Glasgow), D Weir (Glasgow), M Evans (Castres).

The match kicks off at 4pm.