Gala, who won the RBS Cup two years ago, are a step closer to Murrayfield once again after they beat Stirling County comfortably 35-3 in the quarter-finals yesterday.

At Netherdale the sides were tied at 3-3 for the majority of the first half until a converted try by Gala's Opeta Palepoi saw them go 10-3 up. The lead was extended to 13-3 by the interval and the second 40 minutes belonged to the hosts. A penalty try, which was converted by Ewan Scott, saw them go 20-3 ahead.

The same player added a penalty with 15 minutes to go and in the 74th minute Ewan McQuillin scored an unconverted try. There was still time for Lewis Bertram to add a final score which was converted by Dave O'Hagen.

Loading article content

Heriot's knocked out last year's RBS Cup finalists Melrose at the Greenyards. A converted try by Graham Dodds tied things up at 18-18 for Melrose in the second half before a late penalty by Graham Wilson won it 21-18 for the Edinburgh side. The other last eight ties between Ayr and Glasgow Hawks and Edinburgh Accies and Aberdeen Grammar were postponed due to the weather.

Boroughmuir were crowned RBS National League champions without playing a game. Watsonians needed a bonus point win over Kelso to keep the title race going, but the Borderers won 26-13.