• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Swimming officials sack Smith

IN A sensational move by the Scottish Amateur Swimming Association, Hammy Smith has been dismissed as Scotland's director of swimming.

The SASA announced yesterday that Smith's services had been terminated from December 23.

Loading article content

Bill Black, general secretary of the SASA, would not elaborate any further than it was for reasons of ''conduct''.

The decision comes at the end of a troublesome year for the SASA. In March, Smith and office manager Peter Barnett were put on suspension after the publication of a report reviewing the sport's future development in Scotland. The pair were reinstated after two months.

Smith, who swam for Paisley and Scotland in the 1950s, was Scotland's chief coach at the 1970 Commonwealth Games, and, after spells coaching in Canada and England, was appointed director of swimming on June 1, 1984.

At the 1986 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh, Jean Hill won two silver medals and there was a bronze apiece for Ruth Gilfillan and Neil Cochran. But, after controversy over team selection, the failure to take a medal at the 1990 Commonwealth Games in Auckland marked the downturn in Smith's and Scottish swimming's fortunes. At last summer's Olympics in Barcelona, only two Scots made the British side.

The SASA now have to decide whether to appoint a new director, a chief executive, or someone more involved with development. Already, there are moves afoot to set up a project team headed by a professional consultant from the Scottish Sports Council to look into the development and future of Scottish swimming.

The SASA also announced yesterday a Scottish youth squad to take part in the Open Winter Meet in Liverpool on January 30 and 31:

Boys: C Bain (Aberdeen), I Edmond (Reading), N Forster (Prestwick), E Fraser (Dumfries Dolphins), I King (Cumbernauld), P Lindsay (Haddington), C Miller (Scotia), C Pankhurst (City of Oxford).

Girls: F Campbell (Carnegie), H Dick (City of Bradford), L Drummond (Aberdeen), K Hamilton (Killerwhales), K Hope, K Lawson (both City of Dundee), K McCrone (East Kilbride), L McLuckie (Clackmannan District), S McNeilly (Warrender), C Runge (St Thomas), H Searle (Renfrew District), L Wight (Warrender).

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.