• Text size      
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Walker takes clubmate's title

FRASER Walker, who will swim for Britain in the World Student Games in America and the European Championships in the next few weeks, collected the Scottish Open championship gold in the 200m medley at the Commonwealth Pool last night.

Loading article content

Warrender's British record-holder won in 2-09.14 to take the title from clubmate Paul Latimer.

Euan Stewart had a fine 100m butterfly win in 56.67sec., just 0.27sec. outside the Commonwealth Games qualifying time.

Alison Sheppard was below her best but just held off the fast improving Kerry Martin in the 50m free-style by 0.33. The double Olympian touched in 28.60.

Neil Hudghton retained the 200m breast-stroke by 10 seconds in 2min. 22.56sec., leaving Renfrew's Neil Murdoch and Anglo Ian Edmond in silver and bronze.

Olympic finalist Ian Wilson won the 1500m free-style, with Carnegie's Neil Sloan more than half a minute behind, taking silver and retaining the Scottish national title in 16-28.82.

MEN. 50m free-style: 1, T Griffith (Elgin) 24.72sec.; 2, J Bradley (Milngavie & Bearsden) 25.34; 3, M MacIntosh (Inverness) 25.72. 1500m free-style: 1, I Wilson (Sunderland) 15-48.57; 2, N Sloan (Carnegie) 16-28.82; 3, R Noble (Warrender) 16-41.52. 200m breast-stroke: 1, N Hudghton (City of Dundee) 2-22.56; 2, N Murdoch (Renfrew Dist) 2-32.41; 3, I Edmond (Warrender) 2-33.15. 100m butterfly: 1, E Stewart (City of Dundee) 56.67; K Crosby (Warrington) 56.94; 3, Bradley 57.75. 200m medley: 1, F Walker (Warrender) 2-09.14; 2, P Latimer (Warrender) 2-11.68; 3, A Aitken (Unattached) 2-12.40.

WOMEN. 50m free-style: 1, A Sheppard (Milngavie & Bearsden); 2, K Martin (Stirling) 28.93; 3, K Burke (Cockermouth) 29.18. 200m butterfly: 1, A Mackay (Warrington) 2-23.45; 2, L McLaren (Warrender) 2-26.62; 3, I Hale (Renfrew Dist) 2-30.82. 200m medley: 1, A Bennett (Nova Centurion) 2-21.81; 2, D Palmer (Killerwhales) 2-23.30; 3, Burke 2-25.38. 100m back-stroke: 1, H Slatter (Warrington) 1-05.32; 2, J Ewing (Renfrew Dist) 1-06.43; 3, N Steel (Aberdeen) 1-06.45. 200m free-style: 1, M Kane (Milngavie & Bearsden) 2-14.79; 2, K Hope (City of Dundee) 2-15.16; 3, G Hamilton (Renfrew Dist) 2-15.88.

Scottish Youth Sprint Championships winners: Boys. 12 years 50m back-stroke -- S Kidd (Cumbernauld) 34.21sec. 14/15 years 50m breast-stroke -- Edmond 31.86. 13 years 50m butterfly -- J Scullion (Cumbernauld) 31.95. 12 years 50m free-style -- Kidd 29.11.

Girls: 11 years 50m breast-stroke -- L Simpson (Kirkcaldy) 42.36. 13/14 years 50m back-stroke -- N Hoare (Satellite) 33.04. 12 years 50m butterfly -- J Rees (Carnegie) 34.00. 11 years 50m free-style -- S Whiteford (Tain) 33.22.

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on HeraldScotland on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis.
If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.