Christmas with the Fizz

The Fizz


It's been 30 years since Land Of Make Believe was wafting over the airwaves, but from the first bar of Don't Start Without Me you are transported straight back. Mike Stock's production has Cheryl Baker, Jay Aston and Mike Nolan (now known as The Fizz) sounding as clear and sharp as they ever did with former founding Buck Fizz member Bobby G.

For The Fizz's second studio album, they have gone with a festive compilation. With rich harmonies, upbeat tempos and classic Christmas staples, including White Christmas, Santa Claus Is Coming To Town, Winter Wonderland and Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow, The Fizz were obviously loving every second of recording these songs and it radiates through the whole playlist.

There are also two original songs - So Christmas, written by Cheryl's daughter Kyla, and the evocative Don't Start Without Me. The cherry on the top of this happy, jolly and sweet offering of pure pop is a sleigh bell-strewn Land Of Make Believe. This really is the seasonal album you didn't know you needed.

Rachel Howdle