The finalists for the Law Awards of Scotland 2014 have been announced and include a diverse range of firms and individuals from across the country.

The event, which has been expanded to 21 categories and takes place in the Radisson Blu, Glasgow on September 4, attracted record entry levels.

Event director Lynn Lester said: "Just when you think the standard of entries has reached its pinnacle, it utterly amazes me how legal firms in Scotland are consistently raising the bar year on year. The time of resting on your laurels is well and truly over as is demonstrated so readily by the innovation and smart thinking of the finest firms in our country."

The Herald is the Law Awards of Scotland's media partner with Stirling Park, Professional Office Supplies, Investec Wealth & Investment, Tilney Investment Management and The Firm among the other supporters.


Law Firm of the Year (Under 40 fee earners):

Allan McDougall Solicitors, Inksters Solicitors, Kerr Brown Partnership, MBM Commercial, Thorley Stephenson, Watermans Accident Claims and Care.

Law Firm of the Year (Over 40 fee earners):

DLA Piper Scotland, Harper Macleod, Simpson & Marwick.

Global Law Firm of the Year:

Aamer Anwar & Co, DLA Piper Scotland.

High Street Firm of the Year:

Allan McDougall Solicitors, Innes & Mackay, Thorley Stephenson.

Sole Practitioner of the Year:

Bonaccord Ecosse, TCH Law.

Solicitor of the Year:

Aamer Anwar (Aamer Anwar & Co), Andy Drane (Davidson Chalmers LLP), Andy Harris (MBM Commercial), Carol Fox (Fox and Partners), Hannah Roche (MBM Commercial), Patricia Barclay (Bonaccord Ecosse Limited), Patrick McGuire (Thompsons), Rod McKenzie (Harper Macleod LLP).

Managing Partner/Team of the Year:

Charles Ferguson (Charles Ferguson Solicitors), Brian Inkster (Inksters), Monica Brown (Kerr Brown Partnership), Thompsons Management Team (Thompsons).

Paralegal of the Year:

Kelie Cooper (MacPhee & Partners), Paula McCombie (Patience & Buchan).

Up and Coming Lawyer of the Year:

Andrew Fraser (Harper Macleod), Dominic Dunnett (MBM Commercial), Greg Flett (Davidson Chalmers), Hannah Roche (MBM Commercial), Laura McCorquodale (Harper Macleod), Ryan Sloane (Aamer Anwar & Co).

Trainee of the Year:

Claire MacAlpin (MacPhee & Partners), Iain Hunter (Kerr Brown Partnership), Jackson Bateman (Charles Ferguson Solicitors), John Brannigan (Gallen & Co Solicitors), Julie Nixon (MBM Commercial), Martin Minton (Inksters Solicitors), Patrick Campbell (Miller Samuel).

Criminal Law Firm of the Year:

Aamer Anwar & Co, Central Court Lawyers, Charles Ferguson Solicitors, Matthew Brown Solicitors.

Family Law Firm of the Year:

Harper Macleod, Patience & Buchan, Simpson & Marwick, Thorley Stephenson.

Up and Coming Law Firm of the Year:

Kerr Brown Partnership, Watermans Accident Claims and Care.

Employment Firm of the Year:

Allan McDougall Solicitors, Fox and Partners, Miller Samuel, Simpson & Marwick, Thompsons.

Property Firm of the Year:

Harper Macleod, McQueen Legal, Simpson & Marwick.

Litigation Firm of the Year:

ADLP, DAC Beachcroft - Claims Validation Team, DLA Piper Scotland, Halliday Campbell WS, Harper Macleod, Irwin Mitchell, Simpson & Marwick, Thompsons.

CSR Firm of the Year:

DLA Piper Scotland, Inksters Solicitors.

Debt Recovery Firm of the Year:

TCH Law.

Faculty of the Year:

Kilmarnock Faculty of Solicitors.

In-House Legal Team of the Year:

Aberdeenshire Council, Glasgow 2014.