Cuningar Loop

Downiebrae Road, Rutherglen, Glasgow G73 1PW

Cuningar Loop is a new and exciting woodland park on the banks of the River Clyde. It’s the perfect place to enjoy the fresh air, get some exercise or just relax. A £5.7 million Legacy project of the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, it has transformed 15 hectares of derelict land - the size of 15 football pitches - into a community greenspace.

From 1810 to 1860 the site was the location of several reservoirs that provided water to the whole of Glasgow. It was also used as a quarrying and mining site before becoming a landfill site for the rubble from the Gorbals demolition. Forest Enterprise Scotland, in partnership with Clyde Gateway, redeveloped the site as part of the Legacy project and actively manages and maintains it today. The importing of soil and compost has given the site a new purpose, providing a rich growing environment for the new plants and trees. Over 15,000 trees now grow there including native trees such as oak, silver birch and blossom, along with some more exotic trees. These make interesting attractions all year round but are especially spectacular to see during the autumnal months.

Expected to attract over 100,000 visitors by 2021, Cuningar Loop features a wide range of exciting activities, including: an extensive path network running 2.5km, adventure play facilities, a bike skills track, woodland workout area, large meadow and picnic areas, an outdoor classroom, a riverside boardwalk and Scotland's first outdoor bouldering park.

Visitors can also see the Cuningar Stones, a permanent public art project by Glasgow-based artist James Winnett. The 15 stones can be found across the park, with many reflecting the history of the site and local area. James Winnett along with fellow artist Rob Mulholland have researched the site’s history, unearthing old objects. The pair also use other items they find on site, such as sandstone and old glass bottles, to run art workshops with community groups.

Cuningar Loop is accessible to the public all year round, with a pedestrian footbridge linking Cuningar with Dalmarnock, providing easy access to the site from the Glasgow side of the River Clyde.


Telephone: 0300 067 6700

Opening times: Open 24/7. Access by car, public transport, bike or on foot. Free car parking is available adjacent to the park.

Admission costs: None

Garden of the Week is in association with Discover Scottish Gardens. For more information, advice and day-out ideas, visit