THE spring season for the A Play, a Pie and a Pint plays at Oran Mor in Glasgow has been announced.

It will begin on February 12 with It's Behind You by Alan McHugh, which will be followed on February 19 by Lorna Martin.

It will be followed on February 26 by Aye, Elvis by Morna Young.

Morna Young is recipient of the Dr Gavin Wallace Fellowship 2017 and the New Playwright’s Award 2014.

The play beginning March 5 will be Rishta by Taqi Nazeer.

Rishta is Taqi Nazeer’s playwriting debut as part of the National Theatre of Scotland’s Breakthrough Writers programme.

That will be followed on March 12 by Alan Muir and on March 19 by For the Love of Chekov (The Dating Game) by AS Robertson, McGonagall's Chronicles by Gary McNair beginning March 26, Rachel's Cousin by Ann Marie Di Mambro on April 2, Margaret Saves Scotland on April 9 by the crime writer Val McDermid.

Eulogy by Rob Drummond will play from April 16, followed Bubblewrap by Hilary Lyon on April 23, and Where's Lulu by Danny McCahon on April 30, Hot Water by Steven Dick on May 7, and Chic Murray: A Funny Place for a Window by Stuart Hepburn from May 14.

The final two plays are The First Dance by Martin McCormick from May 21 and The Vampire Clinic from May 28 by Peter McDougall.

DINH Q. Lê: The Colony is to be installed at the Mareel art centre on Shetland from February 3 to March 9.

The Colony immerses the viewer in panoramic scenes of the timeless and desolate Chincha Islands off the coast of Peru, home to a colony of sea birds, "gradually revealing a sublime landscape with a complex history."

The project was commissioned and is supported in Shetland by Artangel.

The Colony is the first exhibition under Shetland Arts’ new Beyond Bonhoga brand, which will present a programme of visual art exhibitions in new and locations around Shetland.

The Colony will be in the Auditorium at Mareel in Leriwck from10am to 8pm daily.

The opening will take place at Mareel on Saturday 3 February from 6.30pm.

THE shortlist of nominees for the 2018 Scottish Awards for New Music has been announced.

Among the nominees, Sir James MacMillan, Shiori Usui and Martin Suckling are in the runnig for the large scale work category.

Mary Ann Kennedy and Nick Turner, Pippa Murphy and Karine Polwart, and James Lindsay are shortlisted for the award for innovation in new traditional music.

The New Music recording of the year category shortlist includes Lacrymae by Ian Anderson, MacMillan's Stabat Mater and The Last Island by Sir Peter Maxwell-Davies.

Stuart MacRae, Matthew Grouse and Timothy Cooper are in the running for the small and medium work category.

Grouse, Cooper and Michael Begg are shortlisted for the New Electroacoustic/Sound new work.

The Award for Innovation in new Jazz Music includes Tommy Smith, Chris Grieve and Martin Kershaw.

The short list for the award for new music performer of the year includes McFall's Chamber, Red Note Ensemble and Colin Currie.