OLYMPIC marathon runner Charlie Spedding is pondering a decision to

race in strife-torn China. The 37-year-old agreed to compete in the

Peking Marathon on October 15, before the pro-democracy demonstrations

and the government clampdown which followed.

''What has happened concerns me deeply,'' said Spedding, winner of the

1984 London Marathon, and a bronze medallist in the Los Angeles

Olympics. ''The race has not been cancelled and I intend to give it a

lot of thought.''

The race goes through Tiananmen Square, where armed troops clashed

with civilians at the height of the demonstrations.

FRENCH heptathlon record-holder Chantal Beaugeant has been suspended

for two years after having failed a drugs test in a club competition

last month, the French Athletics Federation announced yesterday.

A spokesman said traces of the banned steroid nandrolone were found in

Miss Beaugeant's urine sample after the French inter-club championships

in Dreux on May 28. A second test on June 24 confirmed the results.

She is the first female athlete to be suspended for doping offences in

France since tests were imposed in 1976.

THERE is a record entry of almost 750 for the Dairy Crest Scottish

under-20, youths', and boys' championships at Meadowbank on Saturday.

That compares with 450 last year and 626 in 1986, the previous highest


A top-class field is being lined up for the General Portfolio City of

Edinburgh 10k road race on Sunday, July 9. Allister Hutton, Edinburgh

Southern Harriers, is joined by Kenny Stuart of Keswick, a former

Glasgow and Houston marathon winner, who was fifteenth in this year's

London marathon, two places behind Hutton. A trio of Southern Harriers,

Alan Robson, Keith Lyall, and Neil Thin are supporting the event.

There are several changes in Scotland's teams for the Small Nations

Cup meeting in Antrim on Friday and Saturday. Mark McMahon (ESH)

replaces Brian Whittle (Ayr Seaforth) in the 400 metres and Robert Quinn

(Kilbarchan) comes in for Alan Puckrin (Greenock Glenpark) in the 5000

metres. Neil Turnbull (ESH) replaces Alan Doris (ESPC) in the 200


In the women's side Morag Baxter (Monklands Shettleston) replaces

Janis Neilson (EWM) in the 100 metres, and Dawn Kitchen will take on the

200 metres as well as the 400 metres. Pat Devine (ESPC) comes into the 4

x 400 metres relay pool. Janet Stewart (Victoria Park) comes in for Sue

Bevan (Essex) in the 800 metres and Louise Van Dyk (Essex) replaces

Yvonne Murray (ESPC) in the 3000 metres. Karen Hambrook (Ashford) wins

her first senior outdoor honour in the long jump, replacing Lorraine

Campbell (EWM).