PAGE: 20


ALTHOUGH Grange continue to set the pace in the first division of the

men's hockey national league, it is becoming increasingly clear that

they are going to have their work cut out in containing the challenge of

second placed Guytech ECS.

Guytech put together their most penetrating performance of the season

so far to beat Aberdeen Grammar School FP 7-0 on Saturday. This victory

may not be looked upon with the same degree of surprise as their

5-1 defeat of Western the previous week, but in hitting 12 goals in

two matches it does suggest that Andrew Scoular's side has overcome its

early season teething problems.

Five of their players -- Mike Yellowlees, Malcolm Callaghan, Robin

Plevin, Tom Hay, and Jonathan Smyth -- got their names on the score

sheet with the last-named two collecting braces.

Grange will take comfort from the knowledge that they have already

beaten Guytech this season and that they hold a one-point advantage.

They continued their triumphant march beating Gordonians 3-0 with goals

from Alistair Storrie, Duncan Law, and Donald McFarlane.

Another side with championship aspirations is Kelburne. They came out

on top of their West derby match against Western 1-0, their elusive

right winger, David Magee the scorer.

NMP Menzieshill, the defending champions, over-ran Stirling for long

spells in their match at Maryfield, but in the end had to to settle for

a 2-1. Jimmy Cox scored the winner in 47 minutes after Gus Hunter and

Neil Sharp had exchanged scores in the first half.

The concluding match in the division between ICI Grangemouth and

Torbrex Wanderers ended all square after the Dundee side led 2-0 at half

time, Steve Caswell and Murray Laing the scorers. But Kenny Cross and

Andrew Kay each scored in the last 10 minutes. Results:

Men's National League Division 1 -- Aberdeen GS FP 0, Guytech ECS 7;

Grange 3, Gordoninas 0; ICI Grangemouth 2, Torbrex Wanderers 2; Kelburne

1, Western 0; NMP Menzieshill 2, Stirling 1. Division 2 -- Clydesdale 1,

Hazlehead 2; Edinburgh University 0, Inverleith 2; Perthshire 7,

Whitecraigs 1; Ruthrieston 4, Uddingston 2; Stepps 4, Morgan Academy FP

2. Division 3 -- Harris Academy FP 3, Kirkcaldy 1; Inverness Highland 0,

Dundee HS FP 1; Watsonians 3, Eastbank Academy FP 0. Division 4 -- Ayr

0, Monifieth 1; Grove Academy FP 3, Bishopbriggs 1; Lawside Academy FP

1, Waverley 2; Motherwell 1, Dundee University 1. Division 5 -- St

Andrews University 3, Clydebank 1; Aberdeen University 4, Glasgow Asians

1; Renfrew 1, Aberdeen 1. Division 6 -- Madras College FP 2, Glasgow

University 2.

* * *

ELAINE McAra, president of Glasgow Western Klick Photopoint, gave the

club's reserve side victory in their national league match with Moray

House at Crammond on Saturday when she converted a penalty corner 10

minutes from time.

The game, which was described by Eugene Connelly, the Moray House

coach, as ''a real gem,'' saw the students twice in the lead from goals

by Kristen Jackson and Sharon Bellin. Each time they were drawn back to

level terms by Jean Faichney and Jane Burley.

This was the best performance of the campaign, but they are still

pointless after six matches.

The same too could be said of last season's second division champions

Boroughmuir. They were held to a scoreless draw by Grove in the second

round of the league cup. Grove, who are presently leading the charge for

a place in the top flight next year, went on to win the penalty

shoot-out 3-2.

In the lower divisions Dalziel High School FP returned to winning form

with a 2-1 victory over Edinburgh University while in the match of the

day in division four Vale of leven created an upset by beating the

leaders, Westerlands, 1-0 from a fifteenth minute goal by Jane Simpson.



National League -- Division 1 -- Aberdeen Bon Accord 0, Hutcheson's FP

0; Moray House 2, Glasgow Western 3. Division 2 -- Edinburgh University

1, Dalziel HS FP 2. Division 3 -- Kelburne 0, Hillhead 2. Division 4 --

Vale of Leven 1, Westerlands 0.


National League. Division 2 -- Grove FP 4, Perthshire 1; Hyndland A 2,

Central Wanderers 0. Division 3 -- Ayr 3, Lenzie 0. Division 4 --

Barrhead 1, Hutchesons' FP A 0; Dumbarton 1, Cambuslang 0. National

Confined Cup, second round -- Blairgowrie HSFP 0, Selkirk 3; Ayr A 0,

Clydebank 0 (Clydebank won 1-0 on penalties). Grange Tournament,

Edinburgh: Semi-finals -- Glasgow Western 1 (Forsyth), Kirkcaldy 0;

Boroughmuir 2 (Donald, Scott), Grange 0. Final -- Glasgow Western 3

(Forsyth 2, Burley), Boroughmuir 0.