RUSSELL Adam, Paul Hogarth, and Graham Ellis have joined the ranks of

players who have been chosen by two of Scottish rugby's districts. All

three are newcomers in the Edinburgh XV to meet Heriot's FP in the

club's centenary match at Goldenacre on Monday, September 18 (3pm).

Previously, Adam had played for North and Midlands, Hogarth for the

South, and Ellis for Glasgow.

Finlay Calder, the British Isles' captain on the triumphant tour in

Australia, was not available for the Goldenacre match. Nor were

Edinburgh's two other Lions, David Sole and Scott Hastings. In addition,

of course, no Heriot's player was considered by the Edinburgh selectors.

Boroughmuir dominate the XV with eight representatives. The team is:

S B Douglas (Boroughmuir); A Moore, D R W Adam (both Edinburgh

Academicals), S R P Lineen, M R DeBusk; M Walker (all Boroughmuir), J M

Scott (Stewart's Melville FP); G D Wilson (Boroughmuir), D G Ellis

(Stewart's Melville FP), P H Wright, J D Price (both Boroughmuir), E M

Simpson, J H Calder, captain (both Stewart's Melville FP), P J Hogarth

(Edinburgh Academicals) and G J Drummond (Boroughmuir).

KEITH Robertson, the 34-year-old Melrose captain, is on his way home

after a knee operation in Cape Town. The Scottish cap was injured in the

opening match of the World XV's tour to mark the centenary of the South

African Rugby Board.

Because of his injury Melrose do not expect him to be back playing

until around Christmas.

TO have reached the River Series Trophy semi-finals last season has

not been enough for Dumfries to be excused from playing in the

preliminary rounds of the competition next month. They have to join 33

other clubs to produce 13 to go through to the major tournament in the


Dumfries have drawn a home tie against Ardrossan Academicals, but as

perhaps the most appealing qualifying game, Clarkston and Paisley will

meet at Braidholm. The latter, Division 5 champions in the national

league, sprang the surprise of last season's competition by ousting

first-division Ayr.

Heriot's and Watsonians, returning to the competition, join 17 other

clubs from the first and second divisions as well as the 13 qualifiers

in challenging for the trophy that Stewart's Melville won in April by

beating Boroughmuir in the final. Draw:

First round -- Leith Academicals v Penicuik, Livingston v Royal High,

Broughton v Haddington, Murrayfield v Linlithgow, Lenzie v Waysiders,

Clarkston v Paisley, Madras College FP v Hillfoots, Alloa v Perthshire.

Second round -- Dumfries v Ardrossan Academicals, Greenock Wanderers v

East Kilbride, Hutchesons' v Cambuslang, Cartha Queen's Park v

Grangemouth, Morgan Academy FP v Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen GS FP v Moray,

Howe of Fife v Glenrothes, Portobello FP v Trinity Academicals, Dunbar v

Lismore, Leith or Penicuik v Livingston or Royal High, Broughton or

Haddington v Murrayfield or Linlithgow, Lenzie or Waysiders v Clarkston

or Paisley, Madras or Hillfoots v Alloa or Perthshire.

Byes -- Ayr, Boroughmuir, Corstorphine, Currie, Dalziel HS FP,

Dunfermline, Edinburgh Wanderers, Edinburgh Academicals, Glasgow

High/Kelvinside, Glasgow Academicals, Gordonians, Heriot's FP,

Hillhead-Jordanhill, Kilmarnock, Kirkcaldy, Preston Lodge, Stewart's

Melville FP, Stirling County, Watsonians.