SCOTS cyclists Craig MacLean and Chris Hoy (City of Edinburgh Racing Club) have been selected for the Olympic Games in Sydney and will ride in three events, the sprint, keirin, and Olympic Sprint.

McLean and Hoy, along with fellow Olympian Jason Queally, took silver in the Olympic Sprint event in the world championships last year, and McLean won three gold medals at the British championships in Manchester last week.

Hoy lost to team-mate MacLean in the sprint final but won gold along with the man from Granton-on-Spey in the Olympic Sprint.

McLean, Hoy, and Queally, who are all part of the GB world class performance plan programme to produce medal-winning riders, are Britain's best hopes in Sydney - in the Olympic Sprint. In the world championships in Berlin, they produced a fine performance to finish second behind France, who will again be strong medal contenders along with home team, Australia.

The rest of the British squad is: Jason Queally, Neil Campbell, Rob Hayles, Bradley Wiggins, Paul Manning, Chris Newton, Bryan Steel, Jon Clay, Yvonne McGregor, and Emma Davies.

Scotland's Tour de France hero, David Millar, who won the opening prologue of thar race, is certain to be named for the Olympic Games individual time trial event along with Chris Boardman.

Millar, who rides for the French Cofidis, may also ride in the road event along with Max Sciandri, John Tanner, and Jeremy Hunt.