WESTERN Klick Photopoint, the Scottish women's indoor hockey

champions, will provide no fewer than nine members of Scotland's

national training squad of 25 this winter. Edinburgh Ladies, Western's

great rivals in the indoor arena, will have seven representatives in the

squad, which contains an excellent blend of youth and experience.

Coach Niall Sturrock has clearly left no stone unturned in his search

for new talent. The inclusion of the likes of Fiona McInness, Rhona

Burton, Elaine Brown, and Louise Burton, Scotland's under-21 player of

the year last season, demonstrates the wealth of young talent now coming

through the ranks. The full training squad is:

Sue Lawrie (Ealing), Helen Glass (Boroughmuir), Tracy Robb, Elaine

Brown, Margaret Barbour, Ellen Murray, Ann Menzies, Marjorie Coutts,

Wendy Fraser, Susan Fraser, Susan MacDonald (all Western Klick

Photopoint), Sharon Bisset, Elaine Cooper, Janet Jack, Pauline

Robertson, Louise Burton, Diane Thorburn, Caroline Howard (all Edinburgh

Ladies), Alison Christie, Carol Muir (both Perthshire), Rhona Simpson,

Fiona McInnes (both Heriot-Watt SCPE), Audrey Syme (Grove), Gail

Johnston (Hyndland), Carrie Corcoran (Burts Melrose).

The leading scorers in domestic competitions this season are:

Men: 16 -- Stuart McAlpine (Kelburne); 11 -- Gordon Shepherd (Torbrex

Wanderers); 9 -- Donald McFarlane (Grange); 8 -- Jon Taylor (Stirling),

David Magee (Kelburne); 7 -- Billy Anderson (Kelburne), Paul Doney

(Touche Ross); 6 -- Mike Yellowlees (Edinburgh Civil Service); 5 --

Philip Webster (Touche Ross); 4 -- Steve Caswell (Torbrex), Michael

Stalling (Western), Scott Warden (Torbrex), Andrew Hay (Inverleith),

Richard Freeland (Touche Ross).

Women: 6 -- Carol Muir (Grove); 5 -- Morag Boyle (Hyndland), Sharon

Bisset (Royal High Gymnasts); 4 -- Fiona Lothian, Jackie Lothian (both

Royal High Gymnasts), Susan MacDonald (Western Klick Photopoint), Rhona

Simpson (Heriot-Watt SCPE).