Glasgow Schools 24,

Lothian Schools 22

GLASGOW, wind-assisted in the second half, hauled back a 22-point

deficit to beat Lothian in the schools district championship match

yesterday at Millerston. The result denied Lothian the title and kept

Glasgow in the hunt, with their hope that Midlands can beat South on


In the corresponding match on a neighbouring pitch a 10-all draw was

enough to give Glasgow the under-15 title.

Three tries in 14 minutes gave Lothian a comfortable cushion at


Slack midfield defence twice cost Glasgow dearly, first with Campbell

Aitken's break for his own try and then when Danny Ablett cut through

for Daniel Bull to put Steve Newlands over. Aitken converted both as

well as dropping a goal for a personal haul of 12 points, and four

minutes into injury time Bull scored with an outside break.

John Duffus and Paul Shevlane were eager in a rumbustious forward

effort as Glasgow pulled themselves back with four tries at regular

intervals. Peter Johnston converted the first and third.

Guy Perrett's lineout catch and surge set up the goal-line scrum for

Ross Johnston's pushover try that opened Glasgow's fightback. Barry

Neilson then scored, and after a penalty try, when Lothian collapsed an

attempted pushover, Duffus set up the winner five minutes from time with

a charge almost to the line. Alan Bulloch scored.

Edinburgh -- K I Baillie (Hutchesons' GS); B Neilson (Kelvinside

Academy), A Bulloch (Hutchesons' GS), G McLeod (Glasgow HS), I Morton

(Eastwood HS); P Johnston, K Devlin (both St Aloysius' College); J

Duffus (Kelvinside Academy), G C Bulloch (Hutchesons' GS), O Borthwick

(Kelvinside Acadmy), G C Perrett (Bearsden Academy), M Paterson (Glasgow

Academy), A Blackie (Kelvinside Academy), R Johnston (Belmont Academy),

P Shevlane (St Aloysius' College). Replacement -- A Stott (Glasgow HS)

for Devlin (8 minutes).

Lothian -- S Newlands; D Bull (both Stewart's Melville), D Ablett

(Boroughmuir), I Hoyle (Stewart's Melville), S McConnachie; C Aitken, D

Short (all Heriot's); C D B Flockhart (Stewart's Melville), J McIntosh,

I McLaren (both Watson's), B Clark (Royal HS), S S Capaldi (Stewart's

Melville), S Cairns (Musselburgh GS), A McGregor (Watson's), K M

Hamilton (Stewart's Melville). Replacements - M Borzyecki (Heriot's) for

McIntosh (51), A Huitt (Stewart's Melville) for Hamilton (59).

Referee -- A Hogarth (West of Scotland).