CALUM MacGregor, Glasgow Academicals' 31-year-old stand-off, has been


to district rugby after five years' absence, writes Bill McMurtrie.

Glasgow need him for the match against Munster on Saturday on his home

ground at New Anniesland.

MacGregor will be partnered by Cameron Little, the Glasgow

High/Kelvinside scrum half, the only newcomer in eight changes from the

team beaten 28-14 by the South in the district final last month. Two of

the changes are positional, with Dave Barrett switching from stand-off

to full back and Kenny Logan to the left wing in place of Richard


Elsewhere Chris Simmers is in for Shane McIntosh, Little for Fraser

Stott, Brian Ireland for Derek Busby, Malcolm Norval for Stewart

Hamilton, and John Gibson for Alan Watt.

Edinburgh also have one newcomer for their visit to Dublin to play

Leinster. Marrack Tonkin, Currie's former Scotland under-21 centre, will

make his debut on the left wing, allowing Cameron Glasgow to switch to

full back as Gavin Hastings is to be playing for the Barbarians against

the All Blacks the same day.

Russell Adam, Douglas Wyllie, Scott Aitken, and Peter Wright return in

other changes from the team whom Auckland beat 27-21 three weeks ago.

North and Midlands, beaten by Edinburgh last month, recall Mike

Cousin, Paul Rouse, and Dave Mitchell for their McKane Park match

against Connacht. Teams:

Glasgow -- D N Barrett (West); A S M Turner (Stirling), C T Simmers

(Edinburgh Academicals), I C Jardine, K M Logan (both Stirling); C G

MacGregor (Glasgow Academicals), C E Little (GHK); J T Gibson, K D

McKenzie, G B Robertson, M Norval (all Stirling), D S Munro, F D

Wallace, captain (both GHK), J Brough, B Ireland (both Stirling).

Replacements -- M McKenzie (Stirling), D R McKee, F H Stott (both West),

G T Mackay (Stirling), J A Couper (GHK), S Blair (West).

Edinburgh -- I C Glasgow (Heriot's); D A Stark (Boroughmuir), D R W

Adam (Heriot's), S R P Lineen (Boroughmuir), W M Tonkin (Currie); D S

Wyllie (Stewart's Melville), captain, D W Patterson (Edinburgh

Academicals); P H Wright (Boroughmuir), K S Milne, S W Paul (both

Heriot's), J F Richardson (Edinburgh Academicals), A E D Macdonald

(Heriot's), B Ward (Currie), S J Reid (Boroughmuir), S A Aitken

(Watsonians). Replacements -- J A Kerr (Watsonians), A Donaldson

(Currie), G G Burns (Stewart's Melville), G A R Simpson (Heriot's), G D

Wilson (Boroughmuir), D L Timms (Currie).

North and Midlands -- S A D Burns (Edinburgh Academicals), captain; M

A Cousin, P R Rouse (both Dundee HSFP), R J S Shepherd, J F Swanson

(both Edinburgh Academicals); B R Easson (Boroughmuir), A D Nicol; J J

Manson (both Dundee HSFP), M W Scott (Edinburgh Academicals), D J

Herrington, S J Campbell (both Dundee HSFP), J G Mathieson (Watsonians),

D J McIvor (Edinburgh Academicals), M Waite (Dundee HSFP), D H Mitchell

(Edinburgh Academicals). Replacements -- A K Carruthers (Kirkcaldy), A D

Imrie, G N Flockhart (both Stirling), B H Bell (Highland), W A Anderson

(Kirkcaldy), R Cairney (Dundee HS FP).