THE finalists in The Herald's 15th annual Scottish Student Press Awards were announced yesterday.

Recognised as the most prestigious awards of their kind, the competition seeks to showcase the best student writing, publishing and photography in Scotland.

Magnus Llewellin, deputy editor of The Herald and chair of the judging panel, paid tribute to the high quality of entries which were received this year.

“The judges enjoyed reading many excellent articles from very talented young journalists,” he said.

This year, there have been a record level of entries representing online publications.

John Henderson, the chief executive of Scotland’s Colleges, which is sponsoring the Best Use of Multimedia award, revealed that the sector had a significant focus on new media.

He said: “Colleges have a vital role to play to ensure Scotland has a well-trained, well-educated workforce and, as the world of technology moves to new heights, we recognise the importance of promoting new media.”

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on May 26 at the original home of The Herald, The Lighthouse, in Glasgow’s Mitchell Lane.

The winner of each category will receive a one-week internship with The Herald while the Student Journalist of the Year, who is due to be announced on the night, will receive a four-week placement. The finalists in the Best Photographer category will have the prestigious honour of having their work exhibited at The Lighthouse from mid-May until June.

Best News Writer, sponsored by BT Scotland

Marcus Kernohan, The Journal, Edinburgh University; Alan Robertson, Strathclyde Telegraph, Strathclyde University; Nick Sikora, Glasgow University Guardian, Glasgow University

Best Features Writer, sponsored by

Nick Hanlon, Cardonald Courier, Cardonald College; Dan Heap & Julia Symmes Cobb, The Student, Edinburgh University; Melissa Steer, The Saint, St Andrews University

Best Sports Writer Stephen Coutts, The Dirty Tackle, West of Scotland University; James Ellingworth, The Student, Edinburgh University; Sean Gibson, The Journal, Edinburgh universities

Best Photographer, sponsored by The Lighthouse

Ivan Arlandis, Jon Davey, Angela Isac, Otto Koota, all from Stevenson College

Best Use of Multimedia, sponsored by Scotland’s Colleges

Stephen Coutts, The Dirty Tackle – www.thedirty, West of Scotland University; Nick Sikora, Glasgow University Guardian –, Glasgow University; Frederik Subei, The 4th Pillar –, City of Glasgow College; Robert Tennant, The Perspective –, St Andrews University

Best College Publication, sponsored by SQA

Cardonald Courier, Cardonald College;

The Convergent, City of Glasgow College

Best Magazine

The Convergent, City of Glasgow College; The Edit, Glasgow Caledonian University; EUSCI Magazine, Edinburgh University; qmunicate, Glasgow University

Best Newspaper

Strathclyde Telegraph, Strathclyde University;

The Saint, St Andrews University; The Student, Edinburgh University