ENTERTAINER and comedian Karen Dunbar and world record breaking cyclist Graeme Obree last night walked off with two of the top prizes at the inaugural Icon Awards.

The event, which celebrated Scotland's diverse LGBTI community, held a lavish ceremony at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow.

It was hosted by Edinburgh comedian Bruce Devlin and saw special guest, former Eurovision winner Conchita Wurst, fly in specially for the prize-giving and after-show party at Light nightclub in Royal Exchange Square.

Dunbar was named role model of the year, while Obree, who twice broke the world hour record on his bicycle, won the sporting icon award. Tesco Bank won the employer award.

Angela Crawley, the SNP MP for Lanark and Hamilton East, was named politician of the year. Clothing range Abandon Ship Apparel won business of the year for its genderless and ‘without labels’ range.

In total, 20 trophies were handed out including a special 'straight ally' award for Ru Pauls Drag Race and Celebrity Big Brother star Michelle Visage

Visage said she was 'honoured' to receive recognition for the global work with the LGBTI community, which she said she does "because of love and compassion."

Other big winners were Peachtree Films and BBC’s Transsexual Stories, which won the media portrayal prize. Herald & Times senior features writer Vicky Allan won the title of journalist of the year.

Event organiser Michael Macfarlane said he had been “astounded” by the enthusiasm it had generated.

He added “We want to build an event to rival those in London, bring something special to Scotland and we believe we’ve done that tenfold."

Organisers Paramount Creativ hope to raise in excess of £30,000 for Edinburgh-based Waverley Care.

More than 30,000 votes were cast for the awards. It was supported by the Sunday Herald.

Full list of winners:

The Icon Award:

Winner: Jennie Robertson

Straight Ally Award:

Winner: Michelle Visage

Rising Star:

Winner: Conchita

Waverley Care Special Recognition:

Winner: James Quinn

Volunteer of the Year:

Winner: Tommy Clarke, Red Ribbon Bear

Community Spirit Award:

Winner: Gay Police Association Scotland

Uniformed Icon of the Year:

Winner: W02 Douggie Graham, British Army

Sporting Icon:

Special Commendation: Saltire Thistle

Winner: Graeme O’bree

Role Model of the Year:

Winner: Karen Dunbar

Businessperson of the Year:

Winner: Steven Mcleod, Aurora Hotel collection

Wedding Venue of the Year:

Winner: The Parsonage at Dunmore Park

Venue of the year:

Runners up: Planet Bar, Edinburgh and Marriott Hotel, Glasgow

Winner: The Waterloo Bar, Glasgow

Business of the Year:

Runners up: Wire Media and Amabile Design

Winner: Abandon Ship Apparel

Marketing Campaign of the Year:

Special commendation: LGBT Youth Scotland, Shhh!

Winner: Lush, Gay is ok

Journalist of the Year:

Winner: Vicky Allan, Herald & Times

Politician of the Year:

Winner: Angela Crawley, SNP

Employer of the Year:

Runners Up: Barclays Bank, Royal Golden Jubilee Hospital

Winner: Tesco

Media Portrayal Award:

Winner: Transsexual Stories, BBC, Peachtree Films

Beauty Industry Award:

Runner Up: Terry Dunn Hair, Sara Hill Makeup

Winner: Craig Andrew Hairdressing