The nominations for one of television's most prestigious award ceremonies have been revealed.

The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the nominations for its RTS Scotland Awards 2016.

The awards cover production in Scotland, and this year sees Lachlan Goudie, for The Story of Scottish Art, Elaine C. Smith, for Burdz Eye View, and Emma Baker in the running for the On Screen Personality of the Year Award.

Last year’s Television Journalist of the Year, STV’s Bernard Ponsonby, could win for the second time in a row, as he is in the running with BBC Scotland’s Mark Daly and ITV’s Peter MacMahon for the award.

The Gamechangers, River City and Stonemouth are nominated for the Drama Award while Burnistoun’s Big Night, Only An Excuse? 2015 and Radges are nominated for the Best Comedy Award.

In the news and current affairs categories, Carmichael Trial (STV Glasgow), is up against STV News at Six – Central (STV) and Reporting Scotland (BBC Scotland News & Current Affairs) for the Best News Programme Award, while Scotland What Next? (STV News – Central), BBC Scotland Investigates: Catch Me If You Can (BBC Scotland) and BBC Scotland Investigates: The Dog Factory (BBC Scotland) are all up for the Best Current Affairs Award.

In the factual category, Kirstie and Phil’s Love It or List It is up against Supershoppers and Trust Me, I’m A Doctor for Best Factual Entertainment and Features.

Finestripe Productions, based in Glasgow, has two nominations in the Best History Programme category, with Quintinshill: Britain’s Deadliest Rail Disaster and The Day They Dropped The Bomb competing with Scotland’s War at Sea.

Britain's Benefit Tenants, Earth's Natural Wonders: Living on the Edge and Transplant Tale are nominated for the Best Documentary and Specialist Factual Award.

Handmade, Blood and Glitter: 70 Years of the Citizens Theatre and Dance to Freedom are in the running for the Best Arts Programme Award.

The award winners will be announced at a ceremony, hosted by Catriona Shearer and Sanjeev Kohli, on 25 May at the Oran Mor venue in Glasgow.

The RTS Scotland Award will also be announced on the night.