LINDA Urquhart OBE from Morton Fraser won the Lifetime Achievement Award at The Law Awards of Scotland 2016, which took place in Glasgow last night.

Ms Urquhart was recognised for her contribution to both the practice of law and her role in the development of Scots law.

Currently chairman of Morton Fraser, Ms Urquhart was the firms’s chief executive for more than ten years. In addition she is a former chairman of CBI Scotland while she currently sits on the board of CBI and Scottish Enterprise, and is chair of Investors in People Scotland and holds a number of further corporate and charity positions.


More than 300 people gathered to celebrate the wealth of talent in Scotland being undertaken by Scottish law firms, sole practitioners, teams and trainees who were recognised for the incredible work they are carrying out in Scotland’s judicial system.

The Law Awards of Scotland 2016 in association with HR Consultancy and supported by, Stirling Park, Law Society of Scotland and McKinstry Practice Management took place at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and were hosted by Shereen Nanjiani.

The big winner on the night was Shoosmiths, which scooped the Debt Recovery Firm of the Year category, sponsored by Stirling Park; and Property Firm of the Year; while Jen Paton from the firm won Up & Coming Lawyer of the Year.

Other multiple winners were The McKinstry Company and Digby Brown Solicitors, which picked up two awards each.


Prominent lawyer and human rights campaigner Aamer Anwar from Aamer Anwar & Co was named Solicitor of Year. And The Chairman’s Award was given to Phillip Rodney from Burness Paull.

Hilary Roberts, managing director of HR Consultancy said: “A huge congratulations to all the winners and finalists at last night’s Law Awards. We were extremely impressed with the high standards on display this year.

Firms showed best practice in delivering the best possible service to clients as well as developing and shaping the next generation of legal experts. These awards have shown that Scotland’s legal industry is going from strength to strength and has an exciting future ahead.”

Ronnie J Murison, director of sheriff officer services at Stirling Park, said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s finalists and winners; the event was a great success and it allowed Scotland’s law industry to showcase all the hard work being undertaken in their profession. We support these awards as it is important to recognise high achievers and those spearheading good practice within a legal profession increasingly driven by audit and compliance.”


Graeme McKinstry, managing director of The McKinstry Company said: “McKinstry Practice Managament is delighted to have had the opportunity of supporting and sponsoring the Lifetime Achievement Award which is both a recognition and celebration of a unique and lasting contribution which Linda Urquhart OBE has made to both the practice and development of Scots Law. Linda’s achievements and dedication to the legal profession are now suitably recognised by the judges of these prestigious awards which acknowledge the superb quality of Scotland’s top lawyers.”

Graham Matthews, vice president of the Law Society of Scotland, said: “We were delighted to see such strong competition for the awards this year and all of the winners deserve hearty congratulations for their achievements. The awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the breadth of talent in the Scottish legal profession and for us to recognise excellence in international law firms.”

For full coverage of the event, please visit

Law Firm of the Year Under 40 Fee Earners

MBM Commercial LLP - Winner

Law Firm of the Year Over 40 Fee Earners – sponsored by HR Consultancy

Digby Brown Solicitors - Winner

Global Law Firm of the Year – sponsored by Law Society of Scotland

DLA Piper Scotland LLP - Winner

High Street Firm of the Year

The McKinstry Company - Winner

Sole Practitioner of the Year

Gregor Smith - Montgomery Smith Solicitors - Winner

Solicitor of the Year

Aamer Anwar - Aamer Anwar & Co - Winner

Lisa Law - Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents - Commendation

Managing Partner of the Year

Graeme McKinstry - The McKinstry Company - Winner

Team of the Year

Macdonald Henderson Limited - Winner

Up & Coming Lawyer of the Year

Jen Paton – Shoosmiths - Winner

Trainee of the Year

John Morgan – Brodies - Winner

Criminal Law Firm of the Year

Beltrami & Co Ltd - Winner

Private Client Firm of the Year

Allan McDougall Solicitors - Winner

Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents - Commendation


Family Law Firm of the Year

Family Law Matters Scotland - Winner

Livingstone Brown - Commendation

Property Firm of the Year

McQueen Legal - Commendation

Shoosmiths – Winner

Litigation Firm of the Year – sponsored by Stirling Park

Allan McDougall Solicitors - Commendation

Gilson Gray LLP - Winner

CSR Firm of the Year

Digby Brown Solicitors - Winner

Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents - Winner


Debt Recovery Firm of the Year – sponsored by Stirling Park

Shoosmiths - Winner

In-house Legal Team/ Lawyer of the Year

CYBG PLC - Winner

Energy Firm of the Year

Harper Macleod LLP - Winner

Chairman’s Award

Phillip Rodney – Burness Paull - Winner

Lifetime Achievement Award - sponsored by McKinstry Practice Management

Linda Urquhart OBE – Morton Fraser - Winner