MPs have voted to reject the Prime Minister's withdrawal agreement.

It comes on the day Britain was originally supposed to leave the EU: March 29.

MPs were considering the withdrawal agreement in today's debate and vote, which is the legal binding "divorce deal" covering the UK's exit from the EU.

Read more: Brexit Withdrawal Agreement as it happens

And the Commons have rejected this motion with a majority of 58.

This means that the UK will now be leaving the EU on April 12; 40 days before we would have left if MPs had accepted the Withdrawal Agreement.

Labour had whipped MPs not to support the deal, and the DUP had also said they would vote against the agreement. 

In order to win the vote, the Prime Minister had to receive 76 more votes than it did last time, assuming MPs voted in the same way.

Withdrawal Agreement debate: How many votes does Theresa May need to win?

The meaningful vote was lost last time with 242 in favour and 391 against, with just one MP absent.

The Prime Minister said: "The implications of the House's decision are grave.

"The EU has been clear that any further extension will need to be agreed unamiously.

"It is almost certain to involve the UK being required to hold European Prliamentary elections."

Jeremy Corbyn called on the Prime Minister to resign after the third rejection.

In full: Who voted for and against Theresa May's Brexit deal

He said: "This is now the third time the Prime Minister's deal has been rejected.

"This deal now has to change.

"If the Prime Minister can't accept that, she must go, so that we can decide the future of this country through a general election."

Nicola Sturgeon also reacted to the news, and said that the SNP would now work with others to find the 'best option possible'.

President Donald Tusk called for a meeting of the European Council just moments after the result was announced.

The meeting is set for just two days before the UK is now expected to leave the EU.