On Thursday, Scotland heads to the polls as part of the European elections. 

Despite Theresa May against the idea of an EU election, the Prime Minister was left with no choice in order to secure more time to try and deliver her Brexit.

READ MORE: European elections 2019: Why is the UK involved and what does it mean for Brexit? 

Across the UK, voters will elect 73 Members of European Parliament (MEPs) to represent 12 regional constituencies. The amount of MEPs for each constituency is determined by population.

In total, The European Parliament consists of 751 MEPs - soon to be 705 post-Brexit - who are elected every 5 years.

READ MORE: European elections: What parties are running, what are their policies and where do they stand on Brexit? 

Under a system known as the d’Hondt method, parties put forward a list of candidates who are then elected on a proportional basis. While the UK has 73 seats, the proportional representation aspect is divided into regions. Scotland sends 6 MEPs, Wales 4, Northern Ireland 3 and England, 60.

READ MORE: Desperate and dangerous: What the papers say about PM’s ‘new Brexit deal’ 

Each competing party has put together a list and MEPs will be selected from that list, in order, depending on how many voted their party gets.

Below is the list from each party, in their party list order:


Alyn Smith
Christian Allard
Aileen McLeod
Margaret Ferrier
Heather Anderson
Alex Kerr


Nosheena Mobarik
Iain McGill
Shona Haslam
Iain Whyte
Andrea Gee
Michael Kusznir


David Martin
Jayne Baxter
Craig Miller
Amy Lee Fraioli
Callum O'Dwyer
Angela Bretherton


Sheila Ritchie
Fred Mackintosh
Catriona Bhatia
Vita Zaporozcenko
John Edward
Clive Sneddon


Maggie Chapman
Lorna Slater
Gillian Mackay
Chas Booth
Mags Hall
Allan Faulds

Brexit Party

Louis Stedman-Bruce
Karina Walker
James Ferguson-Hannah
Stuart Waiton Paul Aitken
Calum Walker


Donald MacKay
Janice MacKay
Otto Inglis
Mark Meechan
Roy Hill
Neil Wilson

Change UK

Joseph Russo (No longer standing) 
David MacDonald (No longer standing)

Peter Griffiths
Kate Forman
Heather Astbury
Colin McFadyen
Cathy Edgeworth

Running as independent

Gordon Edgar
Ken Parke

Scotland will take longer to declare than the rest of England and Wales, because the Western Isles will not begin counting results until Monday.

The SNP is defending two seats and are hoping to gain a third, while the Tories could lose their one seat.