SIX of Change UK's 11 MPs, including spokesman Chuka Umunna and interim leader Heidi Allen have quit after the fledgling party's disappointing performance in last month's EU elections, when it failed to get a single MEP elected.

The party announced that it now had just five MPs and a new party leader, the former Conservative business minister and anti-Brexit campaign er Anna Soubry.

Ms Soubry said she was "deeply disappointed" over news of the departing MPs who said they would be "returning to supporting each other as an independent grouping of MPs".

READ MORE: Change UK: Who are they and how are they linked to the Independent Group ?

The others remaining are the former Labour MPs Mike Gapes, Chris Leslie, Joan Ryan and Ann Coffey.

HeraldScotland: Anna Soubry

A joint statement from the six leaving members said their priority was now "to provide collegiate leadership to bring people together in the national interest".

"We know the landscape will continue to shift within the political environment and have concluded that by returning to sit as independents, we will be best placed to work cross-party and respond flexibly.

"We wish our colleagues well as they continue to build Change UK."

In a statement, Soubry said: “I’m deeply disappointed that at such a crucial time in British politics our former colleagues have made this decision.

“Now is not the time to walk away, but instead to roll up our sleeves and stand up for the sensible mainstream centre ground which is unrepresented in British politics today.

“Going forward, the Change UK MPs are as determined to fix Britain’s broken politics as we were when we left our former parties.”

Change UK - formerly known as the Independent Group - was formed earlier this year by MPs who quit Labour and the Conservatives.