The very best of the Scottish cultural scene gathered last night at the Edinburgh Corn Exchange to celebrate the wealth of the country’s talent.

The event was sponsored by Cameron, Edinburgh Napier University, EventScotland (part of VisitScotland’s events directorate), MGA Management, Theatre School of Scotland and Rotunda Comedy Club.

Broadcaster Bryan Burnett was the host for the evening and the event was opened by the very talented students of the Theatre School of Scotland; the guests then enjoyed their performance again with a dinnertime set.

Edinburgh Napier University sponsored the Lifetime Achievement Category, which was awarded to Una McLean. Pauline Miller Judd, of Edinburgh Napier University, said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s winners.

The awards were once again a great showcase of Scottish talent and it was a huge honour to acknowledge Una’s fantastic contribution to Scottish cultural life.”

EventScotland sponsored the Outstanding Cultural Event, with the presentation going to Tiree Music Festival. Paul Bush OBE, VisitScotland’s director of events, said: “Congratulations to all the winners at this year’s Herald Scottish Culture Awards, especially Tiree Music Festival for winning the prestigious title of Outstanding Cultural Event.

“EventScotland is delighted to continue its support of the awards, which are a wonderful celebration of Scotland’s world-renowned cultural sector.”

Tabitha Watson, agency director at MGA Management, sponsor of the Outstanding Musical Performance, which was awarded to John McCusker, said: “It was an evening filled with laughter and celebrations, a society uniting together to recognise Scottish talent within the industry.

“It was so wonderful being amongst such a talented group of diverse people celebrating Scottish culture and I look forward to what 2020 holds.

A night to remember indeed!’

Dr Andy Greer, partner of Rotunda Comedy Club, sponsor of the Outstanding Contribution to Scottish Comedy category, said: “Scottish people are renowned for their sense of humour in the face of adversity, including our manic summer weather!

“All of the award nominees are exceptional. Stand-up is a powerful platform for social commentary and relieving the tension of current affairs. It is fantastic that the medium has recognition through these awards. The nominees are particularly strong in the comedy category, so there is particular kudos to the winner here.”

The Theatre School of Scotland sponsored the One To Watch category, which went to Rachel Jackson.

Reece Donnelly, founder and managing director of the Theatre School of Scotland, said: “We are delighted for the One To Watch winner Rachel Jackson. She is a very worthy winner, someone who in my opinion inspires the next generation. It was great to see so many worthy winners recognised for their hard work. We have an incredible amount of talent in Scotland and it should be spoken about.”

On the night the judges presented a special contribution to Scottish culture award to A Play, A Pie and A Pint.

To view the highlights from the event, please visit For information on the 2020 awards, please contact Holly Rutherford on 0141 302 6019. You can follow social media updates on this event by searching #CultureAwards.

A list of the winner is full

Behind the Scenes Award

Cheeky Besom Productions: 'Artists with Attitude'

Mark Leese - Winner

Scottish Opera Stage Management Team

Designer Award

Duncan Adams

Leslie Travers / Scottish Opera

Sigrid Schmeisser

Tim Meacock for Scottish Opera’s Pagliacci - Winner

Outstanding Dramatic Performance

Lost at Sea by Perth Theatre at Horsecross Arts and Morna Young

Midsummer Presented by National Theatre of Scotland and Edinburgh International Festival

My Left/Right Foot – The Musical A Birds of Paradise and National Theatre of Scotland production

What Girls Are Made Of - Winner

Outstanding Dance Performance


Adrienne O'Leary

Sophie Martin - Winner

Outstanding Contribution to Scottish Comedy - Sponsored by Rotunda Comedy Club

Ashley Storrie

Frankie Boyle

Janey Godley - Winner

Kevin Bridges

Outstanding Musical Performance – Sponsored by MGA Management

Admiral Fallow/Gareth Williams/Sian Evans/NOISE opera

Ailie Robertson


John McCusker - Winner

Visual Artist Award – Sponsored by Cameron

Cathy Wilkes

Charles Anderson, DA, RSW, HONS, FRIAS

Charlotte Prodger - Winner


Outstanding Literature

Chris McQueer – Hings - Winner

Donald S Murray

Nadine Aisha Jassat - Let Me Tell You This

Outstanding Festival

Aye Write (Glasgow Book Festival)

Glasgow Film Festival - Winner

Paisley’s Halloween Festival

StAnza, Scotland's International Poetry Festival

Outstanding Cultural Event – Sponsored by EventScotland

Findhorn Bay Festival

Granite Noir

Tiree Music Festival - Winner

One to Watch – Sponsored by Theatre School of Scotland

Danielle Jam

Duncan Adams

Rachel Jackson - Winner

Outstanding Venue

Aberdeen Music Hall

Summerhall - Winner


Outstanding Attraction

Blair Castle

Can You Escape? Edinburgh

V&A Dundee - Winner

Helix Park - Kelpies

Lifetime Achievement Award – Sponsored by Edinburgh Napier University

Una McLean - Winner

Contribution to Scottish Culture

A Play A Pie and A Pint - Winner