Boris Johnson’s entry into Downing Street was foreshadowed by a series of Cabinet resignations from high-profile Tory opponents of a no-deal Brexit.

David Lidington is the latest to confirm he is leaving his role as the Minister for the Cabinet Office, saying "it's the right moment to move on".

Philip Hammond also quit as Chancellor, Rory Stewart resigned as International Development Secretary and David Gauke left his post as Justice Secretary in the hours before the Tory leader was to enter No 10 as prime minister.

READ MORE: SNP mavericks try to revive independence 'Plan B' 

The apparently co-ordinated resignations from Government on Wednesday came after Theresa May gave her last Prime Minister’s Questions and as Mr Johnson was shaping up a Government to deliver Brexit.

Mr Gauke had previously indicated that he could not serve in a Johnson administration and would resign before he was sacked.

The announcement came moments after Philip Hammond resigned as Chancellor. 

READ MORE: Philip Hammond quits as Chancellor ahead of Boris Johnson becoming PM 

Mr Hammond, a staunch opponent of a no-deal Brexit, said the new Prime Minister should be “free to choose a chancellor who is fully aligned with his policy position”.