Dozens of Scotland’s prominent cultural figures have signed a “declaration for independence” ahead of the SNP’s autumn conference. 

The 12-point declaration, which was reported by Tom Gordon in The Herald yesterday, was published setting out the “guiding principles” for a new state, including a written constitution, and the expulsion of the Trident nuclear deterrent. 

READ MORE: 'Declaration of Independence' issued ahead of SNP conference 

The 501-word manifesto was published ahead of the SNP conference said that staying in the Union meant Scots giving up their right to “decide their own destiny”.

Here is a list of the signatories in full:

Iain Anderson, broadcaster

Peter Arnott, playwright

Neal Ascherson, journalist and writer

Aly Bain, musician

Margaret Bennett, folklorist and singer

Robert Black QC, Professor Emeritus of Scots Law

Christine Borland, visual artist

Stuart Braithwaite, musician

Calum Colvin, visual artist

Roddy Buchanan, visual artist

Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster

Brian Cox, actor

Robert Crawford, writer

Sir Tom Devine, Professor Emeritus of Scottish History

Lari Don, writer

Jenni Fagan, writer

Rt. Rev. Richard Holloway, writer and broadcaster

Robert Hodgens, musician

Kathleen Jamie, poet and writer

Jamie Jauncey, writer

READ MORE: All Under One Banner march as it happened: Edinburgh confirmed as biggest march yet with over 100,000 participants 

A.L. Kennedy, writer

Liz Lochhead, poet, playwright, former Makar

Val McDermid, writer

Jamie MacDougall, singer and broadcaster

Lorraine Mackintosh, actor and singer

Dr. Dolina Maclennan, writer and broadcaster

Aonghas MacNeacail, poet and broadcaster

Dr. Ann Matheson, literary historian

Karen Matheson, singer

Alexander Moffat, artist

Jemma Neville, author

Andrew O’Hagan, writer

Aidan O’Rourke, musician and composer

Don Paterson, poet

Karine Polwart, musician and writer

Eddi Reader, singer

Prof. Alan Riach, poet and academic

James Robertson, writer

Donald Shaw, musician, composer and producer

Ross Sinclair, visual artist

Donald Smith, storyteller

Elaine C. Smith, actor

Alan Spence, writer

Will Storrar, minister and academic

Gerda Stevenson, writer and actor

Sheena Wellington, singer

Prof. Gary West, musician and broadcaster

Ruth Wishart, journalist and broadcaster