The Herald Politician of the Year shortlist has been revealed following a year of high drama in Westminister and Holyrood. 

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has been nominated for the prestigious away for skilfully merging the case against Brexit with one in favour of independence, and fostering a sense of inevitability about a second referendum despite UK Government resistance. 

READ MORE: Scottish Politician of the Year 2019: Nominations revealed for national award ceremony

Jackson Carlaw has also been nominated for stepping up to replace Ruth Davidson as interim leader of the Scottish Conservatives without missing a beat at First Minister’s Questions. 

John Finnie rounds off the three nominees for getting two highly contentious pieces of legislation on to the statute book – the smacking ban and the workplace parking levy. 

READ MORE: Nominations sought for 2019 Scottish Politician of the Year awards

Editor in Chief Donald Martin sat down to talk about how the candidates are chosen, what is considered in deciding the shortlist and the winner, and why the event remains so important in the Scottish political landscape. 

Video by Paige Beresford.