Qualifying for this summer’s eEURO efootball tournament gets under way today, with 16 teams looking to book their place in the final tournament in London in July.

All 55 of UEFA’s member national associations will take part in the qualifiers to see which team will eventually be crowned champions of Europe on 11 July – a day before the real-world UEFA EURO 2020 final takes place at Wembley Stadium.

eEURO 2020 will be the largest ever national team efootball competition. The teams, divided into 10 groups, will play each other twice in a ‘home’ and ‘away’ format. Each match will consist of two 1v1 games, with the aggregate score, over the two matches, determining the outcome. The qualifying matches will be played across all four Mondays in March.

Scotland's gamers find themselves in a group containing Portugal, Liechtenstein, Romania and Slovenia.


The 10 group winners will qualify directly for the final tournament, which will feature 16 teams. The 10 runners-up will play in a play-off tournament across two matchdays in May to determine the last six finalists.

"We are delighted to give gamers from our national associations the chance to represent their country on the big stage," said UEFA Events SA marketing director Guy-Laurent Epstein.

"We have seen a massive growth in the popularity of efootball over the past few years and eEURO 2020 is giving us the opportunity to connect with new and existing fans of national-team football."

The national associations selected the teams that would represent them at eEURO 2020 mainly through online tournaments. However, in some cases, boot camps were set-up and the country’s top players where invited to train and be assessed by efootball experts. For several national associations, the eEURO 2020 selection process was their first steps into the world of efootball.


The tournament will be played in an authentic UEFA EURO environment, with Konami, the official EURO video game licensing partner, having just released its latest update of the UEFA EURO 2020 official video game. This update to efootball PES 2020, will feature all 55 competing teams.

The team crowned the winner of eEURO 2020 will receive tickets to the final of UEFA EURO 2020 as well as a cash prize. UEFA will live-stream a selection of matches on the official UEFA YouTube channel. The first match to be shown on will be the game between England and Serbia which kicks off today at 5pm.