Two more countries have been added to the list of countries that require travellers to quarantine upon arriving in Scotland

Those flying from Portugal or French Polynesia will now be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

The changes are due to come into effect from 5am on Saturday morning. 

Gibralter is also under review. 

It follows an increase in positive coronavirus test results for Portugal, with cases rising and staying above 20 per 100,000.

READ MORE: Greece added to quarantine list - here's what it means for holidaymakers

Mr Yousaf tweeted: “If arriving into Scotland from Portugal or French Polynesia from 4am Sat (5th Sept) you’ll have to self-isolate for 14 days.

“Gibraltar high up our watch list of countries we are monitoring closely.

“This week’s data shows increase in test positivity & cases per 100k in Portugal.”

Pressure has been mounting on England to remove Portugal from the UK Government’s quarantine exemption list after its coronavirus case rate worsened.

There were 23.0 Covid-19 cases per 100,000 people in the country in the seven days to Wednesday, up from 15.3 a week earlier.

The Scottish Government also required travellers from Greece to self-isolate for 14 days from Thursday.