The new date for the next Scottish Parliament has been revealed.

Parliament’s Presiding Officer, the Rt Hon Ken Macintosh announced that newly elected MSPs will be sworn in on Thursday 13 May.

The election for the Parliament’s new Presiding Officer will also take place that day.

Further details of the Parliament’s first days will be issued early next week and the full text of the letter can be found below.

In a letter from the presiding officer to the party leaders Ken Macintosh wrote: "I am writing in relation to my role under Section 9 of the Scottish General Election (Coronavirus) Act 2021 to "fix the day on which the Parliament is first to meet after the poll for the 2021 election”.

READ MORE: Nicola Sturgeon: Indyref2 'a fundamental democratic principle'

"Following consultation with the Electoral Commission and Electoral Management Board, as required under the Act, I am pleased to announce that I am now able to fix the date of the first meeting of Parliament as Thursday 13 May, when newly elected Members will be sworn in and elect a new Presiding Officer. Colleagues can expect to receive further information on the arrangements for both items of business from the Parliamentary Business Team in the coming days.

"This date will now be made public and announced in the Business Bulletin.

"I understand that this is a time of mixed emotions and fortunes for your parties and candidates. I would however like to take the opportunity to thank you for your support and co-operation throughout the last session and to also pass on my best wishes for whatever the next five years hold for you and your parties and for the Parliament."

The Presiding Officer has the power to set the date under the Scottish General Election (Coronavirus) Act 2021. In deciding on the date the Parliament will first sit, the Presiding Officer consulted with both the Electoral Commission and Electoral Management Board.

READ MORE: Scottish election results: SNP are biggest party with 64 seats

Scottish voters elected a majority of pro-Scottish independence MSPs to Holyrood.

The SNP failed to win a majority outright but obtained 64 MSPs – up one on 2016.

The Scottish Conservatives' vote held steady in second place, maintaining their 31-seat total from the previous Scottish Parliament election.

Anas Sarwar was unable to increase Scottish Labour’s seat total, with the party down two MSPs to 22.

The Scottish Greens boosted their influence at Holyrood by picking up an additional two seats for their total of eight.

The Scottish Liberal Democrats lost one seat, with Willie Rennie’s party now on just four.