Speed skating is one of the three skating disciplines at the Winter Olympics, alongside figure skating and short track speed skating.

It is the largest sport in terms of events at the Bejing Games with 14 events in total.

All speed skating events will take place at the National Speed Skating Oval, whic is also known as the Ice Ribbon.

These will occur from February 5 to February 19.

HeraldScotland: Cornelius Kersten will take part in the event for Team GB (PA)Cornelius Kersten will take part in the event for Team GB (PA)

What are the rules for speed skating?

Both men and women's categories will compete in a 500m, 1000m, 1500m, 5000m, Mass Start and Team Pursuit events.

Additionally, the men will have a 10,000m event while the women have a 3000m event.

READ MOREWinter Olympics 2022: When they start and how to watch, live stream

On the Winter Olympics website it says: "Almost all speed skating events consists of two skaters competing alongside one another, with each competitor looking to set the fastest time among all skaters in the field, not just the one they are racing against (save for the mass start and team pursuit events)."

Which Team GB members will be competing in speed skating?

Team GB will have two members taking on the speed skating, with Cornelius Kersten competing for the men and Ellia Smeding competing for the women.