Canada and Denmark are among the countries that have been added to the green ‘traffic light’ list for international travel, the Scottish Government has announced.

Thailand and Montenegro will be added to the red list, meaning leisure travel to these countries is banned and anyone entering Scotland from either country will be required to spend 10 days in a quarantine hotel.

Other countries moving from amber to green are the Azores, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Switzerland.

The changes come into force at 4am on Monday.


Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport Michael Matheson said:

“The latest changes are welcome for Scots with loved ones in Canada but once again show that international travel remains challenging.

“Any relaxations to travel restrictions have only been made possible due to the huge success of the Scottish Government’s domestic vaccination programme.

“It is vitally important we protect that progress through continued vigilance on importation, and we continue to urge caution given the risks caused by variants of concern.”