BERLIN hosted a successful European Athletics Championships and with it only concluding last weekend, the city barely has time to take a breath before the next major athletics event kicks off.

Tomorrow, 650 athletes from almost 40 nations will descend on the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark For the World Para-Athletics European Championships, with some of the best para-athletes on the planet set to do battle for European titles.

These are one of the first major championships to use the classification changes brought in by World Para Athletics in January. These updated classes affect athletes with lower limb deficiencies and use prosthetics and blades and as a result, we could well see some world records.

GB has named a 53-strong team with reigning world champions such as Hannah Cockroft, Richard Whitehead and Aled Davies included and the event will be streamed live on the World Para Athletics website and on their Facebook page.

From a Scottish perspective, there are a number of established names to look out for. Libby Clegg, the reigning Paralympic champion in both T11 100m and 200m, returns after being plagued by injury and she has been named team captain in a vote by her fellow squad members.

Also worth looking out for is 2017 world champion and double Paralympic silver medallist Stef Reid who goes in the T64 long jump. The 31-year-old was European champion in 2014 and is looking to regain her title but will have to produce something close to her best as she is up against reigning Paralympic champion, Marie-Amelie le Fur from France.

Another to watch out for is East Lothian’s sprint sensation, Maria Lyle. The T35 sprinter is still only 18 but has already racked up three Paralympic and five world medals, as well as five European golds. The teenager will be aiming to successfully defend her 100 and 200m titles over the next week.

Other Scots in action are reigning Paralympic champion Jo Butterfield in the F51 club throw as she looks to retain the European title she won in 2014 and 2016, Ross Paterson in the T38 200m and 400m as well as race runners – Hannah Dines, Gavin Drysdale and Kayleigh Haggo who all go in the RR3 100m.