THE half-dozen franchises to compete in the SRU’s new Super 6 competition all announced their finalised 35-man squads today, ahead of the start of the tournament next month. 

Scotland loosehead prop Gordon Reid is the most high-profile player to have signed up for Super 6. The 32-year-old announced in August that after the World Cup he will join the Ayrshire Bulls, where his team-mates will include Ayr club stalwarts such as back-row forward Pete McCallum and playmaker Frasier Climo, as well as Ross Thompson, the Scotland Under-20s international.

Melrose have rivalled Ayr for domestic domination in recent signings, and their Southern Knights franchise also includes a host of players who have made their names in the club game, as well as new recruits from outwith Scotland such as Wales Sevens winger Joe Jenkins and Australian prop Connor Young. Heriot’s have also turned to the sevens circuit to make one of their key recruits - Scott Riddell, the former Scotland captain. The Heriot’s roster also includes a highly-rated member of the Scotland Under-20s squad, Jack Blain.

Across the capital, Boroughmuir Bears have also recruited judiciously from their club side, signing back-row forward Craig Keddie and winger Jordan Edmunds, as well as another Scotland Under-20 cap, teenage full-back Rufus McLean. The Stirling County squad includes Fergus Bradbury, the younger brother of Scotland back-row Magnus, as well as Josh Henderson, a team-mate of Riddell’s in the national sevens squad. Watsonians’ squad includes scrum-half Roan Frostwick  and prop Jack Stanley, who are both on dual contracts with Edinburgh Rugby.

READ MORE: Stuart McInally rallies his Scotland troops ahead of Samoa clash

The teams will play each other in warm-up games over the two weekends before the first round of fixtures, which will see Boroughmuir Bears play Stirling County at Meggetland on Friday 8 November, Southern Knights meet Watsonians at the Greenyards the following afternoon, and Ayrshire Bulls host Heriot’s Rugby on Sunday 10 at Millbrae.


Super 6 squads


Ayrshire Bulls

Backs: Grant Anderson, David Armstrong, Tyler Beary, Frasier Climo, Matthew Davidson, Chester Duff, Craig Gossman, Tom Jordan, Thomas Lewis, Daniel McCluskey, Isaac McNulty, James Pinkerton, Aylan Schabort, Ollie Smith, Ross Thompson, Harry Warr.  

Forwards: Lewis Anderson, George Bordill, Ewan Davies, Graham Geldenhuys, Nicolas Griffiths, Fraser Hastie, Rory Jackson, Sam Kitchen, Blair MacPherson, Pete McCallum, Alexander McGuire, Euan McLaren, Lars Morrice, Cameron Reece, Gordon Reid, Ruairidh Sayce, Michael Scott, Marshall Sykes, Gavin Wilson.


Boroughmuir Bears

Backs: Rory Arthur, Greg Cannie, Martin Cimprich, Jordan Edmunds, Glen Faulds, Cammy Gray, Murray Johnstone, Ronan Kerr, Chris Laidlaw, Robbie McCallum, Kyle McGhie, Rufus McLean, Gavin Parker, Archie Russell, Cammy Scott, Jack Steele, Tom Wilson, Elia Zampolli.

Forwards:  Callum Atkinson, Gregor Brown, Michael Downer, Tom Drennan, Toby Francombe, Will Inglis, Craig Keddie, Martin McGinley, Scott McGinley, AP McWilliam, David Medjebeur, Aubrey Mncube, Ryan Montgomery, George Shannon, Ewan Stewart, Matt Walker, Dan Winning.  



Backs: Alex Ball, Jack Blain, Ben Chalmers, Robbie Chalmers, James Couper, Stuart Edwards, Cameron Hutchison, Ross Jones, Robert Kay, Scott King, Rory McMichael, Dan Nutton, Harry Paterson, Scott Robeson, Andrew Simmers, James Spencer.

Forwards: Martin Bouab, Struan Cessford, Dan Gamble, Jason Hill, Ali Johnston, Charlie Jupp, Chris Keen, Ruairidh Leishman, Michael Liness, Jack Mann, Callum Marshall, Jack McClean, Patrick McVeigh, Andrew Nimmo, Scott Riddell, Josh Scott, Ronan Seydak, Adam Sinclair, Iain Wilson. 


Southern Knights 

Backs: Patrick Anderson, Bruce Colvine, Thomas Galbraith, Jacob Henry, Struan Hutchison, Craig Jackson, Joe Jenkins, Murdo McAndrew, Michael Mvelase-Julyan, Andrew Nagle, Iain Sim, Nathan Sweeney, Fraser Thomson, Ciaran Whyte, Gavin Wood. 

Forwards: Russell Anderson, Calum Crookshanks, Rory Darge, Alan Gregory, Shaun Gunn, James Head, Neil Irvine-Ness, Ruaridh Knott, Ewan McQuillin, Iain Moody, Harry Morris, Dalton Redpath, Fraser Renwick, Tom Robertson, Angus Runciman, Finlay Scott, Grant Shiells, Dylan Taylor, Mak Wilson, Connor Young.   


Stirling County

Backs: Euan Cunningham, Andrew Goudie, Landon Hayes, Josh Henderson, Oliver Horne, Grant Hughes, Craig Jardine, Kristian Kay, Sean Kennedy, Robbie Kent, Caleb Korteweg, Ewan MacGarvie, Andrew McLean, Mark New, Bruce Sorbie, Logan Trotter. 

Forwards: George Arnott, Oliver Bartlett, Fergus Bradbury, Charlie Brown, Ross Bundy, Billy Dineen, Angus Fraser, Connor Gordon, Cameron Henderson, Reyner Kennedy, Josh King, Alasdair Mackie, James Pow, Bryce Robertson, Lewis Skinner, Dean Taylor-Menzies, Aaron Thomson, Murphy Walker, Adam Wood.



Backs: Lewis Berg, Andrew Chalmers, Matthew Currie, Jamie Forbes, Ewan Fox, Roan Frostwick, Angus Guthrie, Ali Harris, DJ Innes, Lomond Macpherson, Kody McGovern, Lee Millar, Joe Reynolds, Murray Scott, Ruaraidh Smith.

Forwards: Michael Badenhorst, Nathan Borel, Connor Boyle, Harrison Courtney, Cal Davies, Harry Fisher, Jonny Gibson, Ross Graham, Sam Grahamslaw, Finn Hobbis, Jamie Hodgson, Morgan Inness, Rory Jackson, Brian Leitch, James Miller, Gregor Nelson, Finlay Simpson, Jack Stanley, Kieran Watt, Campbell Wilson.