Scottish teams face a difficult route to the group stages of the Europa League with only Rangers entering the competition after the first qualifying round.

Both Aberdeen and Motherwell are seeded for the first phase of the competition, with Rangers and the Dons also enjoying seeding in the second round should they make it through their first leg. 

Motherwell, as it stands, are set to miss out on seeding in the second qualifying round as a result of their coefficient and will need TWO teams seeded in the first round to fail to make the second phase.

READ MORE: The remarkable coefficient stat that no one is talking about 

In order to secure a second-round seed, the Steelmen need two of the following teams below to fail to progress through the first qualifying round:

  • APOEL Nicosia                                  
  • Malmö FF                            
  • Partizan Belgrade                               
  • FCSB                                               
  • NK Maribor                         
  • Hapoel Beer-Sheva                 
  • Rosenborg BK                    
  • Apollon Limassol                             
  • FC Fehérvár                              
  • Shkendija Tetovo                         
  • The New Saints
  • Dinamo Minsk                 
  • Lech Poznan                                
  • Aberdeen                     
  • Zrinjski Mostar         
  • Kairat Almaty               
  • Zalgiris Vilnius

While ideally for the Scottish coefficient, Aberdeen will qualify, this leaves 16 other teams that could hand Motherwell hope for a second round seeding. 

Alternatively, if only one of the teams listed failed to make it through, Motherwell would need to hope that AGF Aarhus also do not qualify as they are the only unseeded team above the Scottish side in terms of coefficient.

There are a number of tricky fixtures to negotiate that could bring hope for Motherwell, however first they will need to see off Breidablik, NSI Runavik or HB Torshavn.

The first round draw will be played on August 27 and will be a one-legged affair.

The first round draw takes place today in Nyon, Switzerland at 12pm.