EDINBURGH may not have reached the Guinness PRO14 final, but they have managed to earn most places in the league’s annual dream team.

Richard Cockerill’s team have six representatives in the select, which is voted for by media in all five participating countries. Defending champions Leinster have three, their final opponents Ulster have two, while Benetton, the Cheetahs, Cardiff and the Dragons have one apiece.

The relatively small number of places won by Leinster, who beat Munster last Friday to go through to Saturday’s final, is partly explained by the fact that players needed to have made a minimum of eight appearances this season to be eligible for inclusion.

Neither Glasgow Warriors nor Edinburgh, who were beaten by Ulster in last Saturday’s other semi-final, won anything in the first batch of awards announced by PRO14. Leinster’s Caelan Doris was named star of the season; JJ Hanrahan of Munster won the golden boot; Paul Boyle of Connacht was named “tackle machine”; Scarlets’ Josh MacLeod was named turnover king; Rhyno Smith of the Cheetahs was top try-scorer; and the Dragons’ Matthew Screech won the PRO14 ironman award.

The awards for the players’ player and coach of the season will be announced today.