Scotland Under-20s head coach Sean Lineen has selected a 36-player squad to take part in a three-day training camp at Oriam High Performance Centre in West Edinburgh this week.  

Full-time Scottish Rugby Academy members who are aligned with either Edinburgh or Glasgow Warriors will not take part in order to ensure that the integrity of their club’s Covid-19 secure bubble is protected. That means players such as tight-head prop Dan Gamble, back-row Dan Muncaster and stand-off Cameron Scott – all Edinburgh – are not involved at this stage.

Similarly, players currently living outside Scotland will stay at home to comply with current Scottish and UK Government travel restrictions. 

The players will be put through their paces by Lineen, forwards coach Shade Munro, and two new faces to the set-up recruited from the part-time professional Super6 league in Peter Murchie of Ayrshire Bulls (defence) and Rob Chrystie of Southern Knights (skills). 

“The camp provides a valuable opportunity for this group of players and coaches to come together for the first time,” said Lineen. “Although the Scottish Qualified and Contracted Academy players who are with pro teams are not able to be with us, it means that a number of players get the chance to come into the squad for this camp.” 

Scotland U20s have been granted elite sport dispensation from the Scottish Government to prepare for an intended Six Nations campaign next year as a national representative team. 


Scotland U20 squad to train at Oriam (Monday 30th November to Wednesday 2nd December): 

Forwards: Robbie Simpson (Edinburgh Accies / Northumbria University), Duncan Hood (Heriot’s Blues), Scott Clelland (Ayrshire Bulls), Jamie Drummond (Ayrshire Bulls), Gregor Scougall (Currie Chieftains), Michael Jones (Boroughmuir Bears), Luca Allesandri (Cartha Queens Park), Dean Hunter (GHA), Chris Elliot (Cartha Queens Park), John Paterson (St Andrews University), Jamie Campbell (Boroughmuir Bears), Struan Whittaker (Edinburgh Accies), Cameron Cobbet (Hartpury College), Hamish Ferguson (Currie Chieftains), Harri Morris (Southern Knights), Rhys Tait (Hawick / Exeter University), Trystan Andrews (Glasgow Hawks), Cameron Young (Ayr). 

Backs: Cameron Scott (Currie Chieftains), Cameron Lessels (Currie Chieftains), Sandy Greig (Glasgow Hawks), Finn McIllwrith (Heriot’s Blues), Callum Anderson (Selkirk), Mikey Heron (Stirling Wolves), Joseph Strain (Glasgow Hawks), Christian Townsend (Ayrshire Bulls), Thomas Glendinning (Glasgow Hawks), Tom Lanni (Ayrshire Bulls), Sean Carden (Glasgow University), Roly Brett (Melrose), Adam Scott (GHA), Angus Hoffie (Currie Chieftains), Ryan Daley (Currie Chieftains), Ross McKnight (Stirling Wolves), Jordan Craig (GHA) and Kieran Clark (Southern Knights).