SEAN Maitland has been omitted from the Scotland squad to play France on Friday night after it emerged that the agreement between the national team and English clubs was for a limited number of players to be freed to play in Paris. 

The Saracens player began Saturday’s win over Italy at full-back, and although captain Stuart Hogg is set to resume at 15 after stepping up to stand-off against the Italians, Maitland would normally present a strong case for inclusion on the wing or as a substitute. However, it is understood that the coaching team felt they had sufficient back-three cover to be able to afford to leave Maitland out of the squad of 29 named yesterday for the final Six Nations match of the year.

Jonny Gray has also been omitted, but in his case it is because of the shoulder injury which kept him out of the Italian Test. There are five England-based players in the 29: Gray’s Exeter team-mates Hogg and Sam Skinner, Chris Harris and Alex Craig of Gloucester, and Harlequins’ Scott Steele. 

Jamie Bhatti, who came off the bench three days ago, is left out, as are other England-based players Ewan Ashman, James Lang, Cornell du Preez and Duncan Taylor. Damien Hoyland and Ally Miller of Edinburgh have also been excluded this week.


READ MORE: Glasgow Warriors sign Argentinian international Sebastian Cancelliere

Finn Russell returns after missing out on the Italy game through concussion, and he is expected to start in the No 10 jersey ahead of Adam Hastings, who has been recalled after making his return from a three-match ban for Glasgow on Sunday. Edinburgh stand-off Jaco van der Walt, a substitute in that game at Murrayfield, is also included. Hooker Fraser Brown, who scored a try for the Warriors on his first game back after being out for more than three months with a neck injury, has not made it. 

Scotland squad

Forwards: S Berghan, D Cherry (both Edinburgh), A Craig (Gloucester), M Fagerson, Z Fagerson (both Glasgow), G Gilchrist, N Haining (both Edinburgh), R Harley, O Kebble (both Glasgow), W Nel, J Ritchie (both Edinburgh), S Skinner (Exeter), G Stewart (Glasgow), R Sutherland (Edinburgh), G Turner (Glasgow), H Watson (Edinburgh). 

Backs: J Dobie (Glasgow), D Graham (Edinburgh), C Harris (Gloucester), A Hastings (Glasgow), S Hogg (Exeter), S Johnson, H Jones, R McLean (all Glasgow), D van der Merwe (Edinburgh), A Price (Glasgow), F Russell (Racing 92), S Steele (Harlequins), J Van der Walt (Edinburgh).