Ten Scots have been picked to represent Team GB at this summer's Tokyo Olympics.

Multiple medallist Laura Muir joins the likes of Edinburgh's Beth Dobbin, Jemma Reekie and Eilish McColgan as the female representatives at the competition.

Meanwhile Josh Kerr and Jake Wightman are among the men's contingent for Tokyo 2020.

Dobbin - competing in her first Games - will take her place in the 200m alongside Dina Asher-Smith as well as in the 4x100m Relay. Muir and Reekie will both participate in the 800m while the former also takes part in the 1500m.

The 10 athletes join fellow Scot Kirsty Gilmour (Badminton) already announced as part of the Games.

Team GB Chef de Mission for the Tokyo Olympic Games, Mark England, said: “I am extremely excited by this team of athletes and would like to congratulate them all on their selection to Team GB for the Tokyo Olympic Games.

“There were some stellar performances at the British Championships in Manchester this weekend which will have undoubtedly give fans a glimpse of what they can expect to see when these athletes step out onto the world stage in Tokyo. Athletics is always such a spectacle at any Olympic Games and we know that this year will be no different.

“The Games are within touching distance now and adding a further 65 athletes to Team GB is a significant milestone on this journey. We wish all those selected today the very best in their final preparations and look forward to welcoming them to Tokyo next month.”


Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie, Blackheath and Bromley)

Beth Dobbin (Leon Baptiste, Edinburgh)


Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter, Leigh)

Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill)

Jemma Reekie (Andy Young, Kilbarchan)


Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill)

Katie Snowden (Dan Stepney, Herne Hill)


Jess Judd (Mick Judd, Blackburn)

Amy-Eloise Markovc (Chris Fox, Wakefield)

Eilish McColgan (Liz Nuttall, Dundee Hawkhill)


Jess Judd (Mick Judd, Blackburn)

Eilish McColgan (Liz Nuttall, Dundee Hawkhill)

4x100m Relay

Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie, Blackheath and Bromley)

Beth Dobbin (Leon Baptiste, Edinburgh)

Imani-Lara Lansiquot (Steve Fudge, Sutton and District)

Daryll Neita (Rana Reider, Cambridge)

Ashleigh Nelson (Michael Afilaka, City of Stoke)

Asha Philip (Steve Fudge, Newham and Essex Beagles)



Jake Heyward (Mark Rowland, Cardiff)

Josh Kerr (Danny Mackey, Edinburgh)

Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman, Edinburgh)


Ben Connor (Steve Vernon, Derby)

Callum Hawkins (Robert Hawkins, Kilbarchan)

Chris Thompson (Alan Storey, Aldershot Farnham and District)