George Munsey has declared himself fit to play in Scotland’s World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

The opening bat fractured his finger in a recent training camp in Antigua but has been named in the squad by interim head coach Doug Watson.

Munsey’s involvement is undoubtedly good news for the Saltires and he will provide much-needed experience at the top of the order following the retirement of former captain Kyle Coetzer.

Coetzer’s departure is one of two changes from the one-day squad that clinched the World Cricket League 2 title in Nepal at the start of the year.

Liam Naylor also drops out, while pace bowlers Alasdair Evans and Adrian Neill both join the travelling party for the 10-team event that begins on June 18.

Brad Currie, Michael Jones, Josh Davey and Brad Wheal were all unavailable due to county cricket commitments.

READ MORE: Cricket Scotland hands out first professional women’s deals

The touring party – that includes new assistant coaches Glenn Pocknall and Graeme Beghin – will head first to South Africa for a pre-tournament training camp and warm-up matches against Nepal and Netherlands.

Scotland – who will again be skippered by Richie Berrington - will be among the underdogs against the likes of West Indies, Sri Lanka, and the hosts, with only two places available for the 50-over World Cup that takes place in India this autumn.

Watson, though, is excited for the challenges ahead.

He said: “I think there’s a good mixture in this squad of youth and senior players who’ve been around a while – the likes of Richie and George, as well as some exciting young talent in Jack Jarvis and Chris McBride.

“It’s obviously a wonderful opportunity coming up in Zimbabwe, and the guys that we’ve selected are all really excited and fizzing to go. They know how tough the challenge is going to be.

“It’s moving into winter over there just now, and the conditions are changing, and will be quite spin-friendly, but the key thing will be for us to adapt to the conditions and approach the games the way we want to play them.”

Scotland squad

Richie Berrington (captain) Clydesdale

Matthew Cross Heriots

Alasdair Evans Carlton

Chris Greaves Grange

Jack Jarvis Grange

Michael Leask Forfarshire

Tom Mackintosh Durham

Chris McBride Dumfries

Brandon McMullen RH Corstorphine

George Munsey RH Corstorphine

Adrian Neill Heriots

Safyaan Sharif Perth Doo’cot

Chris Sole Grange

Hamza Tahir Ayr

Mark Watt Derbyshire